A&P Help shooting road course event..

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by crazybenf, May 22, 2007.

1. crazybenf

crazybenf Active Member

I shot this on sport/action mode with a 350d using the kit lens. I'm a total photography noob, so be nice..

The vipers on the backstretch are doing 140-160mph, but the shot stopped the wheels, didnt blur the background, etc.. so each shot looks still, not motion.

How do I get the effect of blurred background/wheels?

:o I know I'm going to look back at this post and laugh in a few weeks of practice, but thats the best way I know to describe it.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

All of those were action shots, not with the car still like they look. :hs:

2. xpinchx

xpinchx hes got a nice cock, on the thin side but its stil

Action mode is a high shutter speed, it's made to freeze fast action (i.e. a basketball player doing a slam dunk.) If you want more blur just put your camera on shutter priority and slow it down. :dunno:

3. crazybenf

crazybenf Active Member

I'll have to try it out then, thanks. Like I said, I'm a total noob with this stuff. That seems to make sense though. :cool:

4. Derrict

Derrict No, I am not Amish OT Supporter

The general rule of thumb to determine an approximate shutter speed is 1/speed of vehicle, to get good background blur. When I shoot autoX, I'll use shutter speeds of anywhere 1/60-1/100. I'll start at 1/100 to get keeper shots, then drop it down to 1/60. Cars are generally doing less than 60 mph. If they're doing 130+, you can use shutter speeds of 1/125-1/250 and a decent amount of blur.

Use AI servo autofocus or use a prefocus spot and pan - move the camera with the car and hit the shutter release. It'll take some practice but once you get the hang of it, it's pretty straightforward.