Help!!! or WTF is this???

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by deadW8, May 11, 2004.

  1. deadW8

    deadW8 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2000
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    costa mesa, ca, usa
    Arrgh!

    Dunno what happened but I can't connect to the net now and my system crawls now.

    I didn't add any new programs and I've checked for Sasser but it says the system is not infected.

    This is what I keep getting at the bottom of the page when I try to open up IE 6.0 (yes, I use & like IE :fawk: ):

    res://C:\WINDOWS\system32\shdoclc.dll/dnserror.htm

    WTF does this mean?

    I've tried rebooting the system and the SBC DSL modem to no avail.

    Any help is appreciated. (I'm currently typing/accessing the 'net from work.)

    Forgot to add:

    OS: WinXP Pro
    Sytem: E-machine (yeah it's a :greddy: system but it works) eMonster 500
    Pentium III 500mhz
    Mem: 512mb
    Firewall: ZoneAlarm (I've disabled it -- doesn't help)
    AV: Norton AV

    Let me know if you guys need any more info on this system.
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2004
  2. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    It could be a bunch of things. Do you have a router? If so make sure you can ping it. Are the correct lights working on the DSL modem? Check to make sure you have an IP address, check the network cable to the machine... etc.

    That error just means that the page couldn't be found and that page is the one that gets displaed when that problem happens.

    CM.
     
  3. deadW8

    deadW8 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2000
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    costa mesa, ca, usa
    D-Link DI-624 Router: Seems to be working fine.
    DSL modem: Speedstream 5100B - All the proper lights are functioning.
    All cables have been checked and are plugged in nice & tight.

    How do I check my IP from home when I can't connect to the net? (I guess I'll d/l Opera or Mozilla here and install at home).

    Any other suggestions? :hs:
     
  4. deadW8

    deadW8 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2000
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    costa mesa, ca, usa
    Well, it looks like my roommate is also unable to access the internet from his laptop. He's got a Compaq, 2.8 celeron, 256mb, winxp home. He said he got the same message.

    I can't figure it out and can't seem to find a solution even when I google this thing.

    Any suggestions before I absolutely have to reformat? :wtc:
     
  5. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    when booted up go into command console and type netstat

    that will show any open conenctions... you could have a virus
     
  6. deadW8

    deadW8 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2000
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    costa mesa, ca, usa
    Weird...Went home for lunch to see if I could fix it, launched IE from the quick launch bar (as I usually do) and voila, it worked!

    I didn't end up having to do anything...I guess the fault/problem was on SBC's side this morning? :dunno:
     
  7. deadW8

    deadW8 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2000
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    costa mesa, ca, usa
    CyberBullets: I've run Norton & Spybot, and they've both come back without finding anything the last few days.

    I'll try your suggestion when I get home tonight just to double-check and see if I have any trojans, etc.

    Thanks. :)
     
  8. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden

    use this online virus scanner http://housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/start_frame.asp it was able to detect sasser (when i got infected when my 60gb died and i lost all my shit) when updated norton can.

    i find once infected, norton is useless. its only good until comprimised.
     
  9. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl


     
  10. deadW8

    deadW8 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2000
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    costa mesa, ca, usa
    Haven't had time check it for trojans, but I did see that my roommate's laptop connected to the net, as did mine last night, so I'm pretty sure that the problem (for once) wasn't on my end but my ISP's. :)
     
  11. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    thats good to hear.
     

Share This Page