Help networking Xp pro. Should be easy .

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by negative zero, May 21, 2006.

  1. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    I have two xp professional machines that I need to network together. In the past I have done this with the same 2 machines without much of a problem. After a fresh install of xp on one of them things are not working.
    I have set up a username/password on the fresh install that is the same as my main log in to my machine.
    Mapped the C drive of the fresh install.
    Disabled simple file sharing (not sure why but a friend suggested this to me before I set these two machines up originally and I had no problems)
    I went to command prompt and typed in net use x: \\computername\drive$ /PERSISTENT:YES
    This is exactly how I did it before and was able to copy files through the network.

    Am I missing something simple?

    Is ther a different/better way to try this?
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    xp sp2 has file sharing disabled in the firewall.... enable it.
     
  3. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    thanks jolly. Both machines have the windows firewall disabled.
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    yea, thats not smart.
     
  5. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    Never used them. I have a hardware firewall and other software that keeps my system clean. you have to admit windows firewall is not really that good anyway.

    Nevertheless, it's not my problem. something else is keeping me fro sharing files on these two machines.
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    by "hardware" firewall you probably mean NAT, which isn't even a firewall, and is not effective, anyway :mamoru:

    And in terms of effectiveness, I think the windows firewall is pretty good, considering what it is.
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    what is the error you are getting with the net use? And can you ping the machine with it's netbios name?
     
  8. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    When I navigate to the computer and try to go to their Desktop (just for example) I get the \\computername\blahblahblah is not accessable. You might not have permission, etc, etc.
    Access is denied.

    So I can see the pc fine, just don't have the right permissions, etc. I am set up under the same username/pass as on my system and I am admin on both.
     
  9. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    Sorry I didn't answer you specifically. When I do the net use I get error 1219.
     

Share This Page