Help me with a training program

Discussion in 'Fitness & Nutrition' started by matt86, Mar 8, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. matt86

matt86 New Member

How should I train for this test?

I've been lifting for about 1 1/2 years and am about 5ft 9in and weight in at 209lbs with around 10-15% bodyfat. I'm applying for a position as a law enforcement officer soon and part of the application process will be the physical test. I have six months to prepare and the test consists of:

1. The applicant will start seated in a patrol vehicle with a seatbelt on and hands on the steering wheel. The applicant will be given a street intersection to remember, for example, Oak and Elm Street.
    2. The applicant will run 100 yards to an orange cone, circle it and return to the vehicle.
    3. Once returning to the vehicle, the applicant will lift a 150 pound dummy off the hood of a vehicle.
    4. The applicant will then drag the dummy 50 feet backwards.
    5. The applicant will sit the dummy down and run a set of steps three times, being sure to touch every step.
    6. The applicant will exit steps to the left after the third set of steps and will push through a metal door that has a 50-pound weight attached to it by a pulley.
    7. The applicant will then complete 10 sit-ups followed by 10 push-ups. The applicant must use correct form for each repetition. In the up position, the applicant must keep back straight and lock elbows at the top of the movement. In the down position, the applicant's chin must touch spotter's fist while keeping body off the ground.
    8. The applicant will return to the steps to run three more times touching every step.
    9. The applicant will crawl through a 40-foot culvert.
    10. Once exiting the culvert, the applicant will complete 10 push-ups and 10 sit-ups.
    11. The applicant will then run 100 yards to an orange cone and 100 yards and 50 feet back to the steps to grab the 150-pound dummy.