Help me pick Video and TV Card

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by IAMwhitey, Jan 22, 2005.

1. IAMwhitey

IAMwhitey New Member

I currently have the FX5700

and i just got this LCD Panel

I am getting rid of that graphics card for a few reason, the image it displays is not so great on the LCD. its good but i think it could be better. The TV card on it just sucks ass, doesn't work with SP2 and hardly ever works without SP2.

So I want to get two seperate cards. one video card and then just a TV Tuner card. I am not very good at picking out vid cards so thats why i am asking for you help! PLease give me suggestions on what would be the best for me. THanks in advance!

2. PRIME

PRIME New Member

I cant compare it to other brands since I have no expertience with them but my Hauppage PVR-250 works great. These cards dont steal from your mainboards processor because they have their own.

http://www.hauppauge.com/Pages/compare_pvr.html

3. EvilSS

EvilSS New Member

If you want a TV tuner card to use as a PVR, get a Hauppage 250 or 350. If you just want to watch TV, look into the ATI all-in-wonder series. The Hauppage is a good tuner, and built-in MPEG is a must for PVR, but the software install is clunky at best and the included software sucks IMHO.

The ATI AIW's are good tuners, the software is better than Hauppage, and the graphics are pretty good. ATI also makes seperate tuners, if you really really want two seperate cards. Unfortunatly, though, the ATI cards don't include hardware MPEG encoding.

If your LCD supports it, get a card with DVI out and use that instead of the VGA connector. Most newer cards have DVI outs, so that shouldn't be a big deal.

4. P07r0457

P07r0457 New Member

the Hauppage 150 is newer than the 250 and uses a better chipset. If you like the 250, you'll want to get the 150.

The ATi AIW is the *worst* (well, one-of) on the market. Stay far away.