GUN Help me out

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by spoofy, Apr 13, 2006.

1. spoofy

spoofy Chemically Enhanced

my girlfriends father died. While cleaning out his house we found his gun. He is a old military guy. I *think* the gun is a Beretta 96. The gun itself doesnt say 92/96 but I found a receipt for the bullets that said Buretta 96 UMC ammo. My girlfriend wants to keep the gun cause she has always wanted a handgun. However neither of us know how to use it. I did grow up around shotguns/rifles and I have a few. But I'm new to handguns

Anyway.. few things.. there are like 3 clips and bags and bags of ammo. One of the clips is in the gun AND the safty is off (its still in the case). So I am going to presume its loaded. The safety and unloading looks no different then any other gun I've used. However does anyone know where I can find a manual online for the 96? I only see the 92.

With that in mind anyone know where I can get info on texas handgun laws and info on getting licensed? Also do we have to register the gun or something now that it has changed owners?

2. krott5333

krott5333 Guest

The ammo was marked "beretta 96"?

was it written on there, or a sticker or something? because a Beretta 96 just uses .40 S&W ammo..

this is a Beretta 96

[​IMG]

3. spoofy

yeah it was hand written on the receipt ..and thats the gun.. or at least it looks the same.

4. luvitlo94

luvitlo94 Make a choice and don't look back.

contact your local PD for transfer procedure

5. black96gtvert

black96gtvert "Is that goal regulation size or what!" -Happy Gil

True do that asap.

also to clear it just realease the mag with that circle button then pull the slide back and eject the case. clear it a couple times to be safe and make sure the safety is on

6. 2L Bunny

2L Bunny "It's only a Rabbit"

They don't do registration in Texas do they? If not, no paperwork for "transfer" needed.

7. mrbill

mrbill New Member

8. spoofy