GUN Help me make up my mind OT. AK or pimping out a Ruger 10/22 ?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by lugoismad, Jan 9, 2007.

1. lugoismad

lugoismad Active Member

I love going to the range and blasting targets down range. Problem is, I'm a broke college student.

I have a friend willing to sell me a WASR GP-10 Hicap for 250$ with 3 mags. I'd love to get it, but my only thought is, how much will I be paying out in ammo prices. 1000 rounds costs over $150, and if I want to save decent money, I have to buy in bulk.

Which, leads me to my thought. I have about 200$ saved so far. And that only covers the gun, I still have to drive about 3 hours each way to get it, plus order ammo.

I have a Ruger 10/22 I bought last summer that I love shooting. I'm thinking about buying that 6x-20x Barska Scope, a nice stock and a bull barrel for it. I also need to get some 30 round mags, and maybe a trigger job. That'd put me right in the 200$ range.

I mean, AK's are always going to be around, right? Yeah, they may go up in price, but they'll still be here.

Which would you do?

Edit: And its not like I don't have other rifles. I own a Mosin-Nagant M44, a 9mm carbine, and a shotgun. I have plenty of powerful stuff, but the AK draw is strong.

2. [DWI]

[DWI] Master of Nothing

as a college student on a budget aside from all the guns I have bought and inherited I recently bought a 22 just so that I can go to the range and shot and shoot and not go broke, I think I shot 2.5 hours the other day and only went through one 550 round brick for ~9 bucks.

In ammo costs alone you will save ~140 bucks after the first 1k rounds you put through the gun. From a money point of view I would say the 10/22 is the logical one. From a I love guns that have more kick blah blah blah I would go AK.

3. lugoismad

lugoismad Active Member