Help me design a computer around multiple monitors

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by delussional77, May 11, 2008.

  1. delussional77

    delussional77 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Overland Park, KS
    Hey everyone, I'm not sure if computers can do what I need but I'm pretty sure they can.

    I currently have three monitors:
    (2x) Samsung 22" Widescreens
    (1x) Samsung 61" LCD TV

    Currently I have the 22" widescreens on my normal computer and the 61" LCD is connected to a home theater PC that I built. I am having a lot of issues with the HTPC and it just doesn't get the use that would justify the expense of fixing it.

    As of right now I essentially have two PCI video cards (nothing special, an 8600GT and an FX5900...). Each mobo is an cheappie AMD using a 5000+.

    Is there a mobo that I can purchase that will allow me to put both video cards in and use them without conflict? I did some googling and I'm not seeing any direct answers. I just really want to consolidate my two PC's into one and control everything from there.

    Thanks for any help you can offer.
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    yes, any mobo will allow that. PCI cards are nothing special. Although I'm surpised you found a 8600GT pci card.
     
  3. delussional77

    delussional77 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Overland Park, KS
    thanks P07, unfortunately I'm getting conflicting answers on other forums

    I guess the best question to ask is what would I need to do to run 3 hi-def monitors from a single computer (assuming I purchase all new hardware)?
     
  4. dissonance

    dissonance reset OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KS
    Preferably get 2 of the same video cards and use one of them to drive both computer monitors and the other to drive the TV

    Also, PCI-Express >> PCI
     
  5. mondaynightmike

    mondaynightmike New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    117,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DEFINITELY No *Unlinked* Cock Pics
    Most *should* allow you to use two graphics cards.

    Mine allows me to use either 2x PCIe or 1xPCIe as well as the onboard graphics (onboard is 384 HDMI port which i use for my TV)

    then the PCIe card i have goes to both my monitors.
     
  6. delussional77

    delussional77 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Overland Park, KS
    hmm..could you give me a little more info on this mobo with HDMI onboard?

    What mobo are you using to accomplish this? Can you run the HDMI output to your TV at full resolution well?

    This could be promising!
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    There are several makes of them. I don't care for them. Performance is "meh". A discrete card would be much better. I'm using a ATi 2600XT to drive my 42" LCD at 1080P native ([email protected]).


    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131237
     
  8. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
  9. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    42" LCD? I thought you were running a plasma 1080P build.
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    it is 1080P. It's LCD. The plasmas can't support native resolutions as high as LCDs.
     
  11. delussional77

    delussional77 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Overland Park, KS
    thanks for the input guys

    It looks like AMD mobo with onboard HDMI will work well for my needs. Any other comments?
     

Share This Page