Help me! CPU Power Connectors dont match!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by o2, Dec 21, 2006.

  1. o2

    o2 Witty Title Here OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Toronto
    I just got all my parts and putting this box together.

    The Nvidia Nforce 680i mobo requires an 8pin cpu connector. the OCZ Gamextreme 600W power supply has 2 x 4-pin plugs, 1 with CPU1 and 2 with CPU2 on them. On th site it says "1 x 4-pin/8-pin CPU (supports double CPUs/supplies stable voltage)". In the manual it says that its strongly recommended that I use 8-pin CPU power, but 4-pin will work too. The OCZ site says that its a universal plug... so I figured that 2 4-pin plugs can be connected to the 8-pin conenctor? Because it fits perfectly.

    help? :wavey:
     
  2. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Yes - two "P4" plugs will work.
     
  3. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    If new CPUs are more efficient, why do they need bigger, more complicated power supplies?
     
  4. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    For the same reason that they need bigger and bigger fans.

    Go back to 486's and you'll see a CPU with no fan. ;)
     
  5. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    See now, that doesn't really explain anything. It sounds intelligent, but it's utterly devoid of any actual meaning. Why do Core 2 Duos need badass power supplies when they're supposedly so much more efficient?
     
  6. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Okay - define what you mean by efficient - its ability to process processes faster or cooler? Or in a compact form? What exactly are you referring to?
     
  7. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio

    They don't need badass psu's at all.

    People like me put together builds with multiple drives, and power hungry graphics cards, among other things, so that's why they typically need big psu's.

    But I bet you could run one with onboard graphics, sound, dvd burner
    and one hd with a good quality 350 watt psu.
     
  8. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's still ridiculous. My old Pentium 3 eMachine had onboard everything, a single hard drive, and a DVD burner, and it only had a 150w power supply. Never bluescreened at all (once I upgraded it to XP, anyway).

    I mean, the Core2Duo has a lower operating voltage than the Pentium 3 did, yet it somehow requires a bigger power supply with extra connectors separate from the good old 20-pin ATX plug. Why?
     
  9. o2

    o2 Witty Title Here OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Toronto
    Video card is the biggest power consumer. I think core2 need about 50-60 watts of power.
     
  10. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    It's an extra 12v Rail and has nothing to do with the CPU power consumption. As demand from drives, video cards, case rice (LEDs, etc), fans, yatta, yatta, increased the size of the PSU's increase. Problem is the connectors are not rated for greater than 20 amps, so the 12V rail was split. Intel then specified that one 12V rail should be dedicated to the CPU and MB to allow for cleaner power to the CPU (no sags from motor spin-ups, etc).

    http://www.formfactors.org/developer/specs/ATX12V%20PSDG2.0%20Ratified.pdf
     

Share This Page