Help me choose a Processor

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Bush77, Aug 28, 2007.

  1. Bush77

    Bush77 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    4,814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    So i'm customizing a laptop from dell that i will be using for gaming/downloading/school work... the usual stuff. These are the specs so far:

    -Intel® Core™ 2 Duo T5250 (2MB cache/1.5GHz/667Mhz FSB), English
    -2GB Shared Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz, 2 Dimm
    -120G 5400RPM SATA HDD
    -256MB NVIDIA ®GeForce™8600M GT
    -8X CD/DVD Burner (DVD+/-RW) with double-layer DVD+R write capability
    For just under $1100CAD

    My question is: For $150CAD should i upgrade to the Intel® Core™ 2 Duo T7100 (2MB cache/1.8GHz/800Mhz FSB)?

    thanks
     
  2. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    I wouldn't spend that money, I'd look more for a cpu that has 4mb of cache rather than 2mb.
     
  3. DaveyD

    DaveyD Fuck Ohio State, son

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    18,781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in Minnesota
    I wouldn't get a dell. They use shitty hinges.
     
  4. Rmc[AZ]

    Rmc[AZ] Get the fuck off my fucking ice

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    903
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Roseville, CA
    For anything other than internet/email, I would recommend a 7200 rpm drive.

    Any Core 2 Duo processor is good however, IMO.
     
  5. StevesVR4

    StevesVR4 Get Arrested

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Even though the T7100 still has a 2MB cache, it does get a bump to 800MHz FSB. That will bring along faster memory and help increase the overall speed of the system.
     
  6. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    The processor is only worth a little over $200 American. So the upgrade cost seems a bit extravagent.
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    shitty machine from a shitty company.

    If you wanna waste money, just send it to me.
     
  8. StevesVR4

    StevesVR4 Get Arrested

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    That price also includes a memory upgrade. How much does it cost to go from 2GB of 667MHz DDR2 memory to 2GB of 800MHz DDR2 memory?
     
  9. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Depends on the brand/speed.. $5-20?
     
  10. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just looked it up for you, to give you an idea same brand memory...
    OCZ 2x1GB DDR2 667 = $88
    OCZ 2x1GB DDR2 800 = $104 ($16 more)
    From newegg.

    Lowest prices from newegg:
    PQI DDR2 667 for $83
    G.Skill DDR2 800 for $92. ($9 more)

    A lot of times with Dell computers it's cheaper to get a system with the base memory and replacing the memory after buying online or buying one dimm and buying the other stick online.
     
  11. Bush77

    Bush77 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    4,814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Thanks for all the suggestions so far they've been very helpful. I've stretched my budget to the max ($1300CAD) and now i need to decide between 2 very similar systems.

    #1
    -Intel® Core™ 2 Duo T7100 (2MB cache/1.8GHz/800Mhz FSB)

    -2GB Shared Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz, 2 Dimm

    -Speed: 120GB SATA Hard Drive (7200RPM)

    -256MB NVIDIA ®GeForce™8600M GT

    -8X CD/DVD Burner (DVD+/-RW) with double-layer DVD+R write capability



    #2
    -Intel® Core™ 2 Duo T7500 (2.2GHz, 4MB L2 Cache, 800MHz FSB)

    -2GB Shared Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz, 2 Dimm

    -120G 5400RPM SATA Hard Drive

    -8X CD/DVD Burner w/ double-layer DVD+R write capability, w/o Roxio Creator

    -256MB NVIDIA® GeForce™ 8600M GT

    What should i go for? The better processor or a faster HD? Is $1300 too much for this setup? I'm open to any/all suggestions.

    thanks
     
  12. Bush77

    Bush77 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    4,814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Furthermore, should i go with XP or Vista with my setup? Again the laptop will be used mostly for entertainment.

    Thanks for the help
     
  13. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you opt to get the memory in 1 Dimm and save something like $125? If you can do that you can probably get another 1 GIG stick for something like $40-50 online and save yourself $75-85.

    Then you could do something like this:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822146228
    or
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822146226
    And wouldn't feel the burn.

    Also if you want 2 GB I believe Dell charges $125 for the upgrade from 1GB to 2GB. You can save yourself $40 by getting something like this instead:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145157

    Keep in mind Dell rapes you on harddrives, memory and processors. The upgrade costs is often more expensive than buying a new quality product.
     
  14. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Vista vs XP question has been debated since the release of Vista.

    I just rebuilt my desktop and I dual-boot XP and Vista. I use Vista maybe once a week if that. For entertainment Vista is fine. If you're looking to game, XP probably has the upper hand at the moment although it isn't DX10 compatible which will likely be needed in the future.

    I find XP to be all-round faster, more responsive and easier to use. I've been playing with Vista a bit by taking off administrator security controls and all around trying to make it seem like it isn't a giant piece of bloated beta malware. But that's my opinion of it. Everyone has a different perspective. Vista does have a nicer looking user interface than the dated XP. It's also fresh and new to play around with. And I think once I tinker with it enough I wouldn't mind using it more often. But as of right now, XP just works...
     

Share This Page