A&P help me choose a camera combo..

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by alex paik, Feb 27, 2006.

1. alex paik

alex paik New Member

so, here is my situation..

i am new to slr cameras and wanted to jump at the chance to get a digital slr camera. the type of guy i am, id rather get something of higher quality for the fact that i would not want to upgrade later.. i want to just get used to a camera and learn how to use it without wanting to upgrade later..

the camera im interested in is the canon 5d.. the question i have is what lens should i get to start off with? i will be shooting anything and everything i see.. from people to landscape.. can someone shine some light in my direction?

is the 5d a good camera?

what lens is a good lens?

2. 00soul

00soul halfsharkalligatorhalfman

yes its a good camera, but if you dont want to upgrade later might as well get a 1 series canon

lens should have a L in it (top quality, no need to upgrade later)

if i were you, id go for the leica r9 with DMR...its pricey, but if times change you'll just have to update the DMR modual and not the whole camera. plus, if computers die, the r9 still can shoot film

3. 00soul

00soul halfsharkalligatorhalfman

if you want to shoot medium format, look into hasselblad. they offer digital backs that go on the back of their film cameras

4. SL1200MK4

SL1200MK4 New Member

What's your budget? How much can you spend NOW and how much can you spend on photography in the next few months and years?

Do you know that you might also need flash, CF cards, tripods, heads, camera bags, and filters.

Do you know why the 5D cost so much more than the 20D/30D? Do you know what full frame means? Do you know how full frame affects (both positively and negatively) the DoF, perspective, corner sharpness, lightfall off on your pictures?