HELP.. macbook wont start uo :(

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by robz, May 31, 2008.

  1. robz

    robz OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    17,054
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I turn the macbook on a blue screen with the mouse comes up and it jsut stays there. I tried hitting command + option + p +r to reset the ram and nothing. I tried hitting shift during startup (safemode) and that made it worse.. all i see is the apple logo with the wheel (very begining of startup).

    what do I do?
     
  2. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    take out battery, unplug from wall, hold down power button for 10 seconds, wait a few seconds, put battery back in, try starting up.
     
  3. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    that'll likely only reset the PMU (which shouldn't be the problem if the Mac is starting up partway), but I agree it's worth a try.

    Barring that, do apple-v or apple-s on startup, that'll dump you into verbose boot mode and single-user mode, respectively. Look for errors or warnings on verbose boot, if you see any, go into single-user mode and tail the logs for further errors:

    computer: # tail -100 /var/log/system.log

    Those steps should reveal any kernel panics or other errors. Either way, you'll probably also want to boot off a Mac OS X disk and run a Disk Utility check/repair on the volume. Most startup problems of that nature are induced by disk errors.

    Hope that helps.
     
  4. robz

    robz OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    17,054
    Likes Received:
    0
    the log says this:

    com.apple.launched[1] (com.apple.windowserver[591]): exited with exit code 1
    org.ntp.ntpd[12]: error : nodename nor servname provided, or not taken
    ntpdate[63]: cant find host time.apple.com
    ntpdate[63]: no server can be used, xiting
    com.apple.atsserver[87]: FIDBChecl: New annes file created
    loginwindow[22]: CGSLookupServerPort: _CGSSessionDeathWatchPort(gSessionPort) returns 26843559
    com.apple.loginwindow[22]: Sat May 31 05:52:11 Robby.local loginwindow[22] <Warning>: CGSLookupserverPort: _CGSSessionDeathWatchPort(gSessionPort) returns 268435459
    loginwindow[22]: Login Window Started Security Port
    com.apple.launched[1] (com.apple.UserEventAgent-LoginWindow[91]) Exited: Terminited
    /system/library/coreservices/loginwindow.app/coontents/macos/loginwindow[99]: login window application started
    /system/library/coreservices/managedclient.app/coontents/macos/managedclient[94: ATSClient: cant make connection to ATSServe. bootstrap_loop_ip status = 268435459
    com.apple.windowserver[96]: no signal exception handler installed: segmentation fault aped[33}: coreProcessServer init failed: 268435459
     
  5. robz

    robz OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    17,054
    Likes Received:
    0
    Edit: I did Repair Disk Permissions and Repair Disk
    and same exact thing :(
     
  6. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
  7. robz

    robz OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    17,054
    Likes Received:
    0

    :bowdown:

    I finally see the desktop :bowdown: You sir are a life saver!!!
    I was lazy and haven't ran timemachine in over 2 months. Breathe

    I'm plugging my hd in right now.
     
  8. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    awesome! the aped part gave it away. it was actually a common problem when people were upgrading to leopard, did you recently install an old ver of application enhancer or something?
     
  9. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
  10. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    :rofl: :Owned: by APE, I'm glad it showed up in the logs though. Logitech was surreptitiously installing APE with some of their kbd/mouse drivers. :ugh:

    Props to mobbarley for nailing that one :cool:
     
  11. robz

    robz OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    17,054
    Likes Received:
    0
    yah i have airfoil and in it i installed instant hijack. stupid stupid me
     

Share This Page