help... just installed wireless router

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by LudeGuy, Apr 29, 2005.

  1. LudeGuy

    LudeGuy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2001
    Messages:
    4,109
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    i'm using only a laptop on the wireless network. it only works when i turn on SSID broadcasting and turn off all the security features. It doesn't work if I do otherwise. I haven't changed any settings on my laptop except turning on the DHCP. Is there anything to setup on the laptop itself? Or am i missing something else? thanks.
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    leave WEP off... it sucks. Turn on MAC filtering... done.
     
  3. LudeGuy

    LudeGuy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2001
    Messages:
    4,109
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    so do i need to type in the MAC of the adaptor on the notebook?
     
  4. LudeGuy

    LudeGuy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2001
    Messages:
    4,109
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    and what about SSID broadcasting? is it supposed to be turned off to increase security?
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    leave SSID turned on. It doesn't aide security.

    You need to type in the MAC of your network adators, yes.
     
  6. LudeGuy

    LudeGuy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2001
    Messages:
    4,109
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    it's working beautifully, thanks!
     

Share This Page