HELP! I can't figure out why my new pC setup is so slow!!!!! :(

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by BLoG, Aug 25, 2005.

  1. BLoG

    BLoG Scented Meat

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    293,886
    Likes Received:
    2,944
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Just kidding :o

    I was trying to check out BF2 on my 3700+ and 7800gtx setup this morning and it was running like SHIT. it would pause every 2 seconds, and it took forever to load maps and stuff. I was getting really really really pissed off.




    Then i realized I had a prime95 torture test running in the system tray from overnight for burn in :o :o :o :o :o

    whoops :o

    i bet it will run better without that using 100% of the cpu time :o
     
  2. Urinal Mint

    Urinal Mint bourbon afficionado

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2001
    Messages:
    113,373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    Just wait for a game that's optimized and then you'll truly realize how fast it is :o
     
  3. BLoG

    BLoG Scented Meat

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    293,886
    Likes Received:
    2,944
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    i wonder if i would have even noticed if i had gotten a dualcore chip :o
     
  4. BLoG

    BLoG Scented Meat

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    293,886
    Likes Received:
    2,944
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    it runs ok now with all settings maxed and 1600x1200

    Not as liquidy smooth as i was hoping though :sad2:
     
  5. Phazel

    Phazel Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    32,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    yeah
    what kind of 7800?
     
  6. Urinal Mint

    Urinal Mint bourbon afficionado

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2001
    Messages:
    113,373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    That's because the code sucks.

     
  7. BLoG

    BLoG Scented Meat

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    293,886
    Likes Received:
    2,944
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    pny :hs:


    i just grabbed the cheapest gtx available
     
  8. orie

    orie social assassin

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2001
    Messages:
    90,666
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    Prestigious Loudoun County
    :werd:
     
  9. Phazel

    Phazel Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    32,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    yeah
    Everything max on mine @ 1680x1050 runs very smooth. Never have any problems here.(minus the rare friendly show up red:o )
     
  10. anjego

    anjego Invading your economy!

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Messages:
    33,270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    that's a hellified gangsta PC
     
  11. BLoG

    BLoG Scented Meat

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    293,886
    Likes Received:
    2,944
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    it won't OC for SHIT :mad:

    I'm sure I just have something set up wrong, but damn! I can't get the system stable at a HTT over 215 :ugh:
     
  12. BLoG

    BLoG Scented Meat

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    293,886
    Likes Received:
    2,944
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    WTF! There's another power connector on the mobo i didn't see :ugh:

    FOUR FUCKING POWER CONNECTORS ON THE MOBO!!!! That's madness!!!!!111

    atx, +12v, molex, and the floppy style one i totally missed.
     
  13. BLoG

    BLoG Scented Meat

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    293,886
    Likes Received:
    2,944
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    i so stupid :(
     
  14. BLoG

    BLoG Scented Meat

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    293,886
    Likes Received:
    2,944
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    I plugged everything in and swapped the 7800 to the other slot and gained 1000 3dmarks :o

    BF2 = orgasmically smoove
     
  15. Cashishift

    Cashishift Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2000
    Messages:
    48,698
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    So are dual core chips the win?
     
  16. Cashishift

    Cashishift Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2000
    Messages:
    48,698
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Whats the maximum speed processor i can put on my Asus A7N-8X Deluxe board?
     
  17. Maverick

    Maverick Guest

    2GB RAM ftw!!!
     
  18. Maverick

    Maverick Guest

    3200+
     
  19. Josepi

    Josepi HA HA, I CHANGED MY AV

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    117,441
    Likes Received:
    1
    Depends on your use. For solely playing games, no. Not yet.
     
  20. BLoG

    BLoG Scented Meat

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    293,886
    Likes Received:
    2,944
    Location:
    Austin, Texas

    My setup is now:

    Antec Superlanboy + truepower2.0 430w
    Athlon 64 3700 + zalman 7700 monster heatsink thingie
    PNY 7800GTX
    2 x 1gig Geil pc3200
    audigy2zs
    lots of hard drives :o

    Everything at stock clock for now. This weekend I'm going to see how fast it can go.
     
  21. BLoG

    BLoG Scented Meat

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    293,886
    Likes Received:
    2,944
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    BF2 crew: 2 gigs of ram + 7800GTX = brand new game.

    at first i was playing with a 6800GT and 1 gig. Extra ram made it load faster and erase hiccups. 7800gtx enabled max settings everywhere and total smoothness in 1600x1200 :love:
     

Share This Page