help: how to create your own webserver

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by zyg0te, Jan 22, 2005.

  1. zyg0te

    zyg0te I've made a huge mistake.

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    norcal
    i have pretty good connection, and wanted to create a small personal server for friends and family. Including everything from personal pictures to movies, even occasionally porn for OT...

    I already have a web server from dreamhost, but i go over bandwidth way too often, esp when sharing files with OT. Anyone know how i can create my own web server, hosting files from my computer?
     
  2. IAMwhitey

    IAMwhitey New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    what OS do you have? from windows ME up it comes with the option to start a web server. That would be your easiest option
     
  3. zyg0te

    zyg0te I've made a huge mistake.

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    norcal
  4. IAMwhitey

    IAMwhitey New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    home or pro?

    I think Home comes with PWS, and then i am positive the Pro comes with IIS.

    To enable this you can go to the control panel -> Add/Remove Programs - > Add/Remove Window Components and the hit the check box for either PWS or IIS.
     
  5. thunderpig

    thunderpig Protoplasmic Pile

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Have a look at the Apache HTTP server. Very easy to use.

    For info on installing php and mysql for apache, check this guide.
     
  6. Shibboleth

    Shibboleth teh mad Plato skillz

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,769
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. DaIceMan

    DaIceMan Jack Bauer > *.*

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3,475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Springfield-ish, Missouri
    in to save links for later.
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    apache on windows sucks.

    What is your upstream speed?
     
  9. zyg0te

    zyg0te I've made a huge mistake.

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    norcal
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    no, seriously, what's your upstream? Lying about it isn't gonna prove anything except you're a liar.
     
  11. zyg0te

    zyg0te I've made a huge mistake.

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    norcal
    that cnet pic isnt photoshopped either :kdubbd:



    but here is my speeds from a more reliable site
    [​IMG]


    and a sample of my upload to dereamhost web server
    [​IMG]
     
  12. zyg0te

    zyg0te I've made a huge mistake.

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    norcal
    what was i lying about? :dunno:
     
  13. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Infinity kbs, which is *obviously* a fake.

    And 7Mbps is *not* faster than a DS3, which is another assumption your cnet fraud pic makes.
     
  14. Juvenall

    Juvenall What Would Juvie Do?

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    2,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    #!/usr/bin/Detroit
    No, Apache 1.x sucks on windows, Apache2 has shown to work just as well as IIS. It's what I run on my XP server box. Wouldn't touch IIS with a stick..

    Anyhow, as far as upstream goes, if you plan to keep things low key, you can get away with 128kbs. I did that for ages on a DSL connection with great results.
     
  15. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    numerous (many independent) tests have shown apache (even 2) to be behind IIS in both security and speed.
     
  16. zyg0te

    zyg0te I've made a huge mistake.

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    norcal
    thanks... gotta go search for my xp cd now :hs:
     
  17. zyg0te

    zyg0te I've made a huge mistake.

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    norcal
    well thats the results cnet gave me.
    "fraud pics" :wtf:

    its a simple screenshot i got from using cnet's speed test, i dont know what your trying to accuse me of...
    http://reviews.cnet.com/Bandwidth_meter/7004-7254_7-0.html
     
  18. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    please link me to said tests. I run Apache on Windows/Linux boxes and have an IIS server for ASP.

    From what I have noticed, LAMP > WAMP > IIS.
     
  19. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
  20. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
  21. MM983

    MM983 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nova

    Oh damn... these links rock. I'm going to try out the distro and see what's going on with that. The first link is good because I had trouble getting MySQL to work properly.
     
  22. MM983

    MM983 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nova
    Ok for the apachefriends install....


    By default it keeps taking me to the damn splash page. I don't want it to go there on default. I want it to go to a main page (index.html)... where do I go to specify this?
     
  23. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    index.html should already be the default, but it's specified in httpd.conf.
     
  24. MM983

    MM983 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nova

    Yeah, that's what I thought. But no matter what I set in the conf.... it still redirects to the damn splash page. Ugh... this is getting annoying. It's like you can't use the webserver... only the splash config pages.
     
  25. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    you are restarting apache after editing the config, right? apache is ghey like that.
     

Share This Page