[HELP] How to add a search field to website?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by parthian, Dec 9, 2006.

  1. parthian

    parthian New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    685
    Likes Received:
    0
    I need help adding a search field to a website that will look up a word and then give the definition.

    Ex) www.dictionary.com I need to do something very similar to that for a website.

    How would I do this? Do I need to create a new page for every word?


    Thanks
     
  2. parthian

    parthian New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    685
    Likes Received:
    0
    does anyone know?
     
  3. aneeley

    aneeley New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento/San Luis Obispo
    Here's the basic idea of how it works:

    You have to use a scripting language like PHP, cgi/perl, or rubyonrails. I suggest PHP for newbies.

    Then you have to have a database. MySQL and PostgreSQL are the most popular for websites. This is where you store the "dictionary" information.

    Then, you'd set it up so you have index.php?word=boobies. Then you have the php script go "okay, find the database entry where the word is 'boobies'".

    I hope that was at least a little bit helpful. I would be happy to this for you, if you're willing to provide some compensation :).
     
  4. parthian

    parthian New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    685
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the response.
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2006
  5. aneeley

    aneeley New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento/San Luis Obispo
    $20/hour is my going rate. If you just want me to do the programming (no design stuff), I'll do it for $80.

    I checked out your host, not bad. If I were to do this I'd do it in Ruby on Rails with MySQL. It makes it really, really easy to edit the template of your site. It's much more readable than a php script.

    The only thing I have on the internet to show you is http://www.tripedia.org/. It's definitely not my best work, but it's proof that I'm not full of shit.
     
  6. parthian

    parthian New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    685
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didn't know it would take that long. I don't have everything to put in the database right now. It looks like you just registered as well but I believe you.

    Do you have a sn?
     
  7. aneeley

    aneeley New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento/San Luis Obispo
    Doesn't matter if you don't have everything to put in the db. I can create a simple admin interface so you can add/edit data. My AIM sn is ehparig.
     
  8. o2

    o2 Witty Title Here OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Toronto
    There ya go
     

Share This Page