Help can't install windows

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by 0mega, Oct 25, 2007.

  1. 0mega

    0mega Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    16,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    SO I got all the parts for my new machine today, assembled, and booted no problem. However now I can't install widows XP on it. I got through the formatting of the disk and I'm at the part right after the restart. I keep getting

    "Fatal Error:
    Installation failed: E:\I386\asms. Error Message: Incorrect function.
    "

    I am using a windows XP CD I burned from an image I download form my school's software services.
     
  2. 0mega

    0mega Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    16,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I burned another copy of the image, no luck.

    I'm trying to think of all the things I did.

    Put it together
    Flashed to latest bios using a USB thumb drive.

    Q6600
    WD 150Gb Raptor
    Gigabyte P35-DS4
    Mitsumi Floppy drive
     
  3. bpfx

    bpfx .

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DFW
    Try using a real (none burned windows) install disk, or download another OS ISO and see if you can install a different OS.
     
  4. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Maybe it's the software you're using to make the bootable disc.

    I've had good luck with MagicISO.
     
  5. 0mega

    0mega Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    16,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I'm reformatting now, I will try with MagicISO.

    Will let you know what happens
     
  6. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    nLite can take the contents of a non-bootable XP disc and make it bootable (and integrate SP2 as well, if need be). I've had good luck with it in the past.
     
  7. 0mega

    0mega Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    16,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Doc Brown burning with MagicISO worked, thank you very much! What causes this I was using Nero 8 before, does it not burn aswell?
     
  8. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I went through about 8 or 10 iso type programs myself before I happened onto MagicISO,
    and I remember not being able to burn a bootable disc with Nero.
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    me thinks this thread was a lie. If you got it from school, then you have tech support able to help you.
     
  10. 0mega

    0mega Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    16,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Why would I call them when I have you guys :love:
     

Share This Page