Help. A fat loss question.

Discussion in 'Fitness & Nutrition' started by HopHead, Jan 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HopHead

HopHead OT Supporter

Hi, this is my first time posting on this section of OT. My new years resolution is to lose 20 pounts (hopefully mostly of fat). I'm 5 feet 9 inches, 180 lbs, 23% body fat. I'm a heavy drinker and I attribute much of my weight gain to that, but also my eating habits went to shit during college.

This is basically my routine:

Day 1: Back/Biceps - 40 minuts of cardio - abs
    Day 2: Ches/Triceps - 40 minuts of cardio - abs
    Day 3: Legs/Shoulders - 40 minuts of cardio - abs
    Day 4: Rest

Then I repeat. I'm going light on weights.

I guess my question is this: I'm keeping my diet under 2000 calories for 6 days a week with no drinking. I heard its okay to eat bad one day a week and drink one day a week. Is this true? Will I still be able to lose body fat weekly If I eat well 6 days a week but eat/drink bad one day? Also, what is the correct proportion of fat/carbs/protein I want? I'm shooting for 15% fat, 50% carbs, 35% protein. Also, I'm not concerned about muscle gain right now.

2. jonno

jonno New Member

i would not eat like shit for an entire day. have a cheat meal once a week, sure. but dont just go nuts 1 whole day

3. HopHead

HopHead OT Supporter

Okay, what if I have one cheat meal and then drink that night?

4. jonno

jonno New Member

i'd personally try to eliminate drinking 100%. but if you must go for it. the thing about drinking is not only do you get the calories and negative effects of alcohol. but usually when i drink i don't give a shit about my diet and i'll eat everything in sight.

5. HopHead

HopHead OT Supporter

What do you think about 15% fat, 50% carbs, 35% protein?

6. jonno

jonno New Member

probably fine as long as calories are in check.. i dont think youll be satisfied with only losing 20lbs if you're at 23% BF now though

7. HopHead

HopHead OT Supporter