GUN Hello from AUS - what bolt action rifle should I buy?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by merlin, Aug 6, 2008.

1. merlin

merlin OT Supporter

I'm a noob from Australia - only just got my firearms license - I have read the first 12 pages of this sub-forum and damn I'm jelous of your freedoms over there. It took me about 3 months and $300 to get my license and now have to wait at least another 3 months to purchase a rifle (once I decide what I want)...also we are not allowed semi/fully-automatic rifles but can get non-self loading rimfire and centrerifle rifles in any calibre with a maximum 10 round magazine.

So I want to buy a bolt action centrefire rifle - I like the Remington 700 SPS Tactical and the Steyr Scout. How does OT rate these rifles? I'm not sure on your pricing in USA but in AUS the Remington 700 is roughly $1200 without a scope and the Steyr is roughly $2500 without a scope. Our dollar is pretty close to yours at the moment. So if we're talking budgets I'd say I'm prepared to spend up to $3000 AU on a rifle and scope.

Second question is which calibre to go - once again have narrowed it down to .223 or .308. Both of these seem fairly common and easy to get in AUS also its my understanding that the .223 is equivalent to 5.56mm NATO round and .308 is equivalent to 7.62mm military round - I would like the gun to be able to fire military rounds as you can then pick up surplus ammo cheap. Obviously the .308 will shoot further but it is also more expensive and the recoil would be higher. The .223 is cheaper, lighter and less recoil but also less range and not sure what it would take down.

Rifle iwould be primarily used for target shooting on indoor/outdoor ranges and I'm licensed to go hunting on anything over 5 acres. Potentially this would mean rabbits, deer, kangaroos, pigs.

Any advice would be appreciated.

2. Hooligan

Hooligan New Member