Hellgate London - Giving it another go

Discussion in 'Online Adventures' started by Koltas, Jul 11, 2008.

1. Koltas

Koltas OT Supporter

Reposted this here since you ngas are like family. Cliffs in bold.

I played this game in beta and wrote it off for a few reasons:

1) Lack of stability - raging ping and annoying crash bugs.
    2) A resource hog that didn't look that great, considering it was a "next-gen" game.
    3) Repetitive gameplay and levels, not nearly enough content.

BUT... Since we've been starved lately of online action/RPGs to play, the GF and I picked up Hellgate: London on Tuesday morning and have been playing it non-stop since then. It seems that a year after release, they finally fixed nearly all the problems they ran into after the beta and initial launch.

No more stability issues... I have not crashed or had bad latency ONCE since I started playing it again.

They apparently did an overhaul of the graphics, because now I've got amazing and detailed graphics (dx10 included) that don't bog down my computer and make it seem like I'm trying to run Crysis. This game is gorgeous, in a post-apocalyptic demon filled kind of way.

The game itself is fairly repetitive (similar to Diablo 2), but they made the gameplay fun enough and action oriented enough that it doesn't seem nearly as 'grindish' as it did before. It's actually fun. Different quests, new zones, completely different gear, re-done content, gameplay tweaks, etc.

I'm not sure how long this game will hold my interest for, or what other games are simply better to play... But for those starved of RPG/Action type games, I'd recommend picking this up. Flagship Studios does an incredible job of listening to the customer base in regards to changes that get implemented, and it definitely shows. There's also a new game-changing patch coming up soon with tons of changes and additional content.