headphones w/ computer question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by GuOD, Oct 11, 2005.

  1. GuOD

    GuOD mcflurry diet

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    Messages:
    7,366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    Hi everyone,

    I'm interested in using headphones but I can't figure out how to do it for the life of me.

    I have a computer with Audigy 2 ZS and 5.1 speakers (log z5500s). I want to use my headphones at night and I got some senn hd500s for testing purposes but when I plug them into my speaker control pod the output is REALLY low! I have to crank up the volume big time. However, I can't plug my headphones into my audigy because the speakers use up the 3 plugs. I was thinking of getting the senn hd555s but they have an even higher impedance and thus I would HAVE to plug them directly into my audigy but I don't know how that will work because I can't crawl under my desk and switch the plug every day several times.

    Any advice is greatly appreciated!!
     
  2. DaddyThirdLeg

    DaddyThirdLeg SMASH puny humans

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    3,258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
  3. GuOD

    GuOD mcflurry diet

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    Messages:
    7,366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    Thanks - but that doesn't answer any of my questions.

    btw, the headphones have a 10ft cord anyway so it's not a problem at all
     
  4. DaddyThirdLeg

    DaddyThirdLeg SMASH puny humans

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    3,258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    :coolugh:it actually addresses the problem of having to crawl under your desk, you plug that into the card leave it on top of your desk and plug in speakers or headphones, no crawling involved, well maybe just once
     
  5. GuOD

    GuOD mcflurry diet

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    Messages:
    7,366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    ah. but the speakers use 5.1 channels (3 plugs) so they must all be plugged in the same place.. and i'm not so sure on the quality of those little extension cables. it would require 3 cables and a big mess
     
  6. veonake

    veonake OnT poster, OT lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Get a y-splitter and a minijack extension like listed and attach the splitter to your front channel jack on the sound card. One end goes to the speakers the other to the headphones. Voila.
     
  7. Arc

    Arc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UF/SRQ

    i am currently using the same setup. works great for me.
    but i am using sound blaster something or other, and logitec 2.1, and my headphones are some simple altec lansing. works great though
     

Share This Page