HDTV question: HDMI vs. Component

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Soju N Coke, Mar 31, 2007.

  1. Soju N Coke

    Soju N Coke New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    32,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    dunno lol
    How much better will it be if I use the DVI-out to HDMI to my LCD than the 5 component cables?

    Will I be able to use the Audio component and HDMI video together on my TV inputs?
     
  2. Lourdes

    Lourdes Damn you Washington

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    22,396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    British Empire
  3. Fess

    Fess New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,439
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    hdmi= video and audio
     
  4. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Use DVI->HDMI and optical for sound.
     
  5. Fess

    Fess New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,439
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    why dont you just run hdmi to hdmi?
     
  6. Soju N Coke

    Soju N Coke New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    32,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    dunno lol
    hmm maybe its just my TV that doesnt accept Audio from the HDMI.
     
  7. Soju N Coke

    Soju N Coke New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    32,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    dunno lol
    Cable box does not have HDMI
     
  8. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,754
    Likes Received:
    8
    impossible
     
  9. Fess

    Fess New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,439
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    on my tv, you have to have the tv on a specific input or it wont work right with hdmi.
     
  10. Soju N Coke

    Soju N Coke New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    32,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    dunno lol
    So right now is it displaying in only 420p? sure seems like it. HD channels only look like DVD quality.
     
  11. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    HDMI Audio can be enabled/disabled on most TV sets, I think
     
  12. Fess

    Fess New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,439
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    im assuming its digital? go trade it in. all the new ones have hdmi.
     
  13. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    No - you can get HDTV over component.

    DVI/HDMI will be digital signals so you should get better signal quality but you might not notice the difference.
     
  14. Soju N Coke

    Soju N Coke New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    32,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    dunno lol
    When I hook up my PS3 I have to use a different Audio source. So I have RCA cables as Audio.
     
  15. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does your TV have optical input? Use that, that's digital as well.
     
  16. Soju N Coke

    Soju N Coke New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    32,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    dunno lol
    I recieved it today so im assuming its the latest one. (From Motorola)

    I only seea DVI output
     
  17. Fess

    Fess New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,439
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    wait, so your ps3 wont run hdmi to hdmi with your tv?
     
  18. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have 2 Moto cable boxes - one has DVI and the other has HDMI.
     
  19. Fess

    Fess New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,439
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    my motorola has hdmi and i got it 7 months ago. call up your cable provider.
     
  20. Soju N Coke

    Soju N Coke New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    32,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    dunno lol
    So it wouldnt be worth it right?

    Maybe I'm mistaken thinking the HD channels will look as good as my Blu-Ray movies.
     
  21. Soju N Coke

    Soju N Coke New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    32,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    dunno lol
    It will but with no audio. There was another person on this board with my same Olevia TV that had the same problem. :dunno:
     
  22. Soju N Coke

    Soju N Coke New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    32,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    dunno lol
    Oh and by the way, how the fuck do I turn off this Closed Captioning on this box?
     
  23. Fess

    Fess New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,439
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    what kind of tv is it? my hd channels look amazing, especially discovery hd and hdnet. the channels should look pretty close to blu-ray.
     
  24. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Probably not.

    The biggest problem with HDTV is the compression that they use - and cables won't help that.

    If you do decide to buy cables, order them from firefold or monoprice - anywhere else is a HUGE ripoff.

    http://www.firefold.com <---- this is actually owned by an OTer and is the cheapest place
    http://www.monoprice.com
     
  25. Fess

    Fess New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,439
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    damn that blows :hs:
     

Share This Page