HDD Problem - CANT READ IN BIOS!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by DarthKoRn, Sep 6, 2005.

  1. DarthKoRn

    DarthKoRn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, so my girlfriend was burning a CD the other day when her CPU crapped out on her. It told her to restart and she did, when it came back, it couldnt read her HDD. So I tried to get it running, and it just wasnt going. Took it out, slaved it, put it in my system, and my BIOS hated the thing. Could read it as a HDD, but didnt detect any cylinders or any type of size. Tried everything I could think of and I am stuck. Besides kissing the data goodbye, is there anything OT can think of to save this data?

    Help me OT-Kenobi, you're my only hope.
     
  2. chips

    chips ...

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,755
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    sounds like you have a bad HD

    call drive saves or somone like that..and bend over.
     
  3. Yep

    Yep Knick knack paddy whack, give the old dog a bone

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2001
    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Jersey
    She toast young Obi-Won-Kenobi
     
  4. DarthKoRn

    DarthKoRn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I know the HDD is toast, called some places and got quotes in the 500+ range. Any other ideas?
     
  5. DweeLer

    DweeLer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    3,222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plano TX
    Do it yourself. I had the same problem and my solution to it was: (this was my Mom's HDD that she fried)

    - Put Moms HDD in my computer as a slave
    - ID it, i had to end up using the Floppy method (google it, its there)
    - After it loaded XP, went into Control Panel/Admin Tools/Computer Managment/Disk Managment to see if it saw it at all.
    - Used the Prog. Stellar Phoenix HD Recovery and had it find all her files (bout 30 min to an hour on a 80GB)
    - saved to mine
    - reformatted hers
    - put her shit back
    - done.
     
  6. AO

    AO New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,750
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    wyd
    Did she use the CDRW to backup her data, like she should have been doing all along?

    Is she using XP, W2K or W98SE?
     
  7. DarthKoRn

    DarthKoRn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    She was using XP, and no, no backups at all.

    And DweeLer what do you mean by ID'ing it?
     
  8. Burns45678

    Burns45678 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    put it in a ziplock bag pop it in the freezer for like 10 or 30 minutes (might wanna google that) give it one last spin and get off all the needed information
    that is a last resort thing and it wont work again after you do it once
    this dose work but not in all cases
     
  9. CrimsonRiot

    CrimsonRiot New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    ^ 10 minutes in the freezer.
     
  10. DarthKoRn

    DarthKoRn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you serious? That cant be real.
     

Share This Page