HDD not found

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by vitamin dew, May 17, 2006.

  1. vitamin dew

    vitamin dew New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    20,496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plantation, FL
    I've got a Shuttle XPC SB95P and recently got a new hard drive. Everything is hooked up, but when I boot up it doesnt show in My Computer. So I check control Panel>admin tools>comp management>storage>Disk Management, and only my current drive shows up. I've looked all around BIOS, cant seem to find anything wrong. Am I missing something completely obvious? What could be the problem? :wtc:
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2006
  2. vitamin dew

    vitamin dew New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    20,496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plantation, FL
  3. dew

    dew Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    47,656
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MIA
    one of the guys said on newegg said
    :dunno: i dont know how you would get drivers for somehting that isnt there lol
     
  4. dew

    dew Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    47,656
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MIA
    SOMEONE HELP HiM ALREDY !!!!! lc
     
  5. Corp

    Corp OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    28,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    if you check device manager is there anything with a yellow flag next to it?
     
  6. rsxm5

    rsxm5 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I know you said nothing appears wrong in the BIOS, but is the drive actually showing up there? Is it reporting the right capacity in the BIOS?
     
  7. vitamin dew

    vitamin dew New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    20,496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plantation, FL
    Nope.
     
  8. vitamin dew

    vitamin dew New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    20,496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plantation, FL
    No. I checked the BIOS to see if anything regarding SATA was disabled but everything looked fine. And no the drive doesnt show up.
     
  9. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Is the hard drive getting power? Can you hear it spin up when the machine boots?
     
  10. dew

    dew Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    47,656
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MIA
    we dont know because its so quite lol and the rest of the computer vibrates so its hard to tell..

    i say you use that sata power adaptor i gave you and hook it up to the mustang psu lol and try that? im trying to think of things it could be..
     
  11. vitamin dew

    vitamin dew New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    20,496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plantation, FL
    I dont need to use that pos mustang psu lol. I'll just hook it up to the black one and see if it works. But I need the adapter. I didnt think of it not getting power, its a SFF pc so the psu isnt very big. I want that external magnum
     
  12. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    I'm assuming it's jumped properly, right?

    edit:

    -try the other plug on the ribbon cable (swap the drives)
    -set bios to auto-select
    -try a new ribbon cable
    -make sure the ribbon cable is firmly plugged into the motherboard
    -make sure the jumpers on the *existing* HD are set to master and not cable select
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2006
  13. vitamin dew

    vitamin dew New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    20,496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plantation, FL
    According to seagates website their drives dont need to be jumped. Dewthedew has the same drive as me, his worked. I'll check out the other stuff.
     
  14. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    I've heard that, too, and I've always jumped them and never had a problem.
     
  15. vitamin dew

    vitamin dew New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    20,496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plantation, FL
    I dont think dew jumped his. I'm gonna try swapping the drives.
     
  16. dew

    dew Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    47,656
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MIA
    i just plugged mine in to the sata cable and the power cable, no jumpers. Then when i booted my pc i went into computer management and then to storage and it showed up in there but not My Computer so i formated it and it showed up :dunno:

    and i didnt mean actually use the extra psu full time .. just see if thats the problem so we know what to do.. look for more info on the bios?

    & 7960 its sata not ide just to let you know and once the sata cable is plugged in competely it clicks and we got both ends of the cable to click and i dont think no matter which drive it is master or slave it doesnt have to be jumped.. my computer has 2 sata drives and neither are jumped
     
  17. dew

    dew Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    47,656
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MIA
    before you start messing with the other drive backup everything just incase lol
     
  18. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    ahh, I missed the sata part, sorry
     
  19. dew

    dew Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    47,656
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MIA
    yeah so the only things i can think of is either its not getting enough power or its dead. i saw try it with the extra psu and see it that works and if that doesnt work we can try putting it in my pc. Thats about my extent of knowledge when it comes to hdds lol
     
  20. vitamin dew

    vitamin dew New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    20,496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plantation, FL
    Im gonna need that converter thing and ill try it on one of my other 3 psu:rofl:
    I've got a feeling the hdd is dead though:o
     

Share This Page