HD External Enclosure Problem

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Teddieedd1e, Nov 29, 2007.

  1. Teddieedd1e

    Teddieedd1e ---------- OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SD, CA
    Before I call Applecare, I was wondering if anybody can help me with this problem.

    My PC broke over Thanksgiving, so I salvaged my HD and stuck it in an enclosure. I formated the drive to FAT32, OS Extended, OS Case-sensitive, etc. But everytime I try to copy a file to the HD, it freezes in the middle and ejects the HD saying "operation cannot be completed because you do not have sufficient privileges for some of the items." But my files aren't locked and have read & write privileges on. I tested the HD on my friend's PC and the files copy fine.

    Can anyone help? Much appreciated.

    CLIFFS: Mac freezes in middle of copying files to HD external enclosure and ejects HD saying "operation cannot be completed because you do not have sufficient privileges for some of the items". However, HD works with PC fine.
     
  2. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    any specific file over 4 gigs?
     
  3. jackback52

    jackback52 Guest

    I'm gonna assume your using a mac. Reformat the drive to Mac OS extended (Journaled) and try again. if your using a PC, ask the PC forum
     
  4. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    did you even read what he wrote before you started assuming?
     
  5. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,754
    Likes Received:
    8
    reformat to mac os extended (journaled)
     
  6. Teddieedd1e

    Teddieedd1e ---------- OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SD, CA
    Nope. A file like a tv show >700MB won't even work.
     
  7. Teddieedd1e

    Teddieedd1e ---------- OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SD, CA
    I've tried that too. Didn't work. I'm thinking I might have to call Applecare. Thanks for your guys' help and effort though.
     

Share This Page