having DNS problems

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by DigiCrime, Dec 29, 2002.

  1. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    32,996
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    St. Louis
    If I can bring up the site from the address bar, dns is working fine apparently but sendmail isnt working.

    If within ssh, i cant wget anyone from domainname.com but can from ip.x.x.x theres some sort of network problem

    nslookup gives me this

    [root log]# nslookup 216.12.209.51
    *** Can't find server name for address 216.12.209.173: No response from server
    *** Can't find server name for address 216.12.209.174: No response from server
    *** Default servers are not available

    Reinstalled bind, nothing, rebooted several times, nothing. Im lost!
    :( what to do?
     
  2. Dommi

    Dommi Guest

    you kinda have to put that a bit more clearly.

    do you mean to say that "if you do something then you have consequence a b and c."
    or
    "I am doing something and have consequence a b and c."
    do both examples occur at the same time?

    you kind of have to be a bit more clear with your trouble statement. Otherwise we would have to be Johnny Carson in order to figure this one out
     
  3. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,613
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    I have no idea what I just read.
     
  4. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    32,996
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    St. Louis
    i spend so much time on the computer i think im loosing my english language or something lol

    I have a server with the IP of 216.12.209.51. All the domains on it, seem to work just fine, I can bring them up in the address bar from IE. But, when Im in shell, cant do NSlookups on my own IP
     
  5. scout

    scout Guest

    sounds like you don't have reverse lookup setup
     
  6. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,613
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Put the entries in your /etc/hosts file and don't worry about it. :big grin:
     
  7. scout

    scout Guest

    then others still can't reverse him, which will present problems when other services, including mail servers try to reverse him.




    The actual sendmail issue wasn't really expanded on by the poster, remember that on some systems sendmail only listens on the localhost 127.0.0.1 , remove this in sendmail.mc (redhat typically). Although if you mean that sendmail on another system rejects your mail its likely cause it can't reverse your ip, and is set to reject it.
     
  8. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    32,996
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    St. Louis
    only thing in hosts is this
    [root /etc]# cat hosts
    127.0.0.1 localhost
    216.12.209.51 www.myhost4u.net # main interface


    whats it supposed to look like?
     
  9. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    32,996
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    St. Louis
    this is the error I got with sendmail

    Dec 29 16:12:21 www sendmail[9341]: gBT89fk09341: ruleset=check_mail, arg1=<[email protected]>, relay=[64.12.136.163], reject=451 4.1.8 <[email protected]>... Domain of sender address [email protected] does not resolve
     
  10. scout

    scout Guest

  11. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    32,996
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    St. Louis
    so whats it mean? i dont know networking that well at all :(
     
  12. Dommi

    Dommi Guest

    no the issue is clear. spam laws

    major isps will not
    relay from a server that does not have reverse dns
    relay from a server that is blackholed
    relay from a server that is black listed

    to expand on the first
    if your domain is foo.com
    you need to resolve rdns to foo.com
    not your cable modems rdns. IE foo.rr.com
    plain and simple. if you run an smtp from a cable modem. it aint gonna work
     
  13. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,613
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ahhhh I think I get it now.

    Are you paying for this server? If so just go tell your host and they should take care of it.

    If it is hosted off a cable modem you more than likely cannot make it resolve to your domain name.
     
  14. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    32,996
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    St. Louis
    I am the host! im an idiot! thats what I am :(
     
  15. Dommi

    Dommi Guest

    err, first, I think you should change your name, if you are good at digicrime then Im the popes stunt double in jackie chan movies, second, you need to actually think before you say anything. babbling your inner monologue really doesnt make sense to us

    breath in
    breath out
     
  16. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,613
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA

    So is the connection a cable or DSL connection? If so forget about it.

    This thread lacks alot of information. :(
     
  17. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    32,996
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    St. Louis
    No its not off a cable modem, its a colo server on rackshack. I gave the server rackshacks name servers and all is well now. I was trying to setup name servers with my own IPs
     
  18. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,613
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    :rofl: So it all works now?
     
  19. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    32,996
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Yea, it all works now. I tried using my own IPs to setup a name server, but i used rackshacks name servers now it works.

    Id still like to figure out how to setup name servers ;)
     
  20. Dommi

    Dommi Guest

    Ive lost interest, try a cryptoanalyst
     
  21. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    32,996
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    St. Louis
    lol. well thanks for any help and listening to me rant atleast
     
  22. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,613
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA

    Read some stuff on BIND, it's not that hard.

    Keep in mind that normal DNS servers are located on different machines and idealy in different locations than the servers themselves.


    So what are you going to do with all the bandwidth and a colo'ed server? :naughty:
     
  23. Dommi

    Dommi Guest

    good point, interest regained. for a minor fee
    :wavey:
     
  24. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    32,996
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    St. Louis
    theres 100 other sites on the server besides the one im working on lol so their using the bandwidth :)

    Ill have to read on how to use your server as a DNS server someday to figure out network issues
     
  25. Dommi

    Dommi Guest

    read http://www.dns.net/dnsrd/rfc/
    if you really want to learn dns
    pick and choose what you think that you need
    but if you are webmastering 100 sites, we arent going to nursemaid you the entire time.
    honestly, I could be getting paid 75 an hour for the same advise...
    oh and doesnt rackshack install the basic server software that you would need?

    check their forums
    http://forum.rackshack.net/
     

Share This Page