Having a problem with harddrive space recognition.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by AtheistUnicycle, Sep 30, 2008.

  1. AtheistUnicycle

    AtheistUnicycle hey baby let me heuristically estimate your pussy

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    10,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Valley Stream/Potsdam, NY
    My friend recently bought a ~500 GB hard drive for his computer, and he has put ~24GB that he can account for, plus windows vista business. The computer is saying that the C: has ~130 GB taken up. We've checked for hidden folders and there's nowhere near 106 GB - whatever vista is. Can anyone help us figure out what's taking the rest of the space?
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2008
  2. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
  3. AtheistUnicycle

    AtheistUnicycle hey baby let me heuristically estimate your pussy

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    10,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Valley Stream/Potsdam, NY
    We have already used WinDirStat and we find that there are only 60 gigs (approx) being used while both window and Auslogics tell me that 130 gigs are being used. Also my friend had 127 gigs used yesterday and the only things he's done has been to update the definition files on his avg and adaware.
     
  4. Limp_Brisket

    Limp_Brisket New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    48,422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    that's his porn stash he's not telling you about
     
  5. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    looks like Vista's Volume Shadow Copy.
    turn off system restore, reboot, and check if it did free off the unaccounted space
     
  6. AtheistUnicycle

    AtheistUnicycle hey baby let me heuristically estimate your pussy

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    10,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Valley Stream/Potsdam, NY
    It was the system restore, we turned it off. Is there a way to set a cap as to how much the system restore can store?
     
  7. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    1. open an elevated command prompt (run as administrator)
    2. type without quotes: 'vssadmin resize shadowstorage /on=c: /for=c: /maxSize=10GB'
    ** 'c:' is your drive, '10GB' is the cap
    3. reboot
     
  8. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    btw,... by default, Vista sets it at 15% of the total drive size, or 30% of available space, whichever is smaller.

    don't cap it too low.
     
  9. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    what is considered "too low", and why is it too low?
     
  10. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    'too low' would be if you try to restore something and it says its not available.

    or if system restore starts saying "there is not enough space, do you want to continue?" or something like that.

    note: if there is enough space, system restore will simply overwrite old ones
     
  11. AtheistUnicycle

    AtheistUnicycle hey baby let me heuristically estimate your pussy

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    10,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Valley Stream/Potsdam, NY
    Thank you so much for your responses, Doomsday. We'll try those when my friend gets back from classes, and we'll let you know how it turns out.
     

Share This Page