Having a little trouble installing Windows XP..

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Madness, Aug 26, 2005.

  1. Madness

    Madness Do not let Dr. Mario touch your genitals. He is no

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    37,904
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    I'm trying to do a fresh install of win xp home on my new pc but for some reason it keeps getting stuck at the end of the 'registering components' stage with 9 minutes left. At this point the mouse is still moving and the loading bar on the bottom right is still rotating so it's not completely locked up. But it won't load anything past that stage and I can't figure out whats causing the problem. I called support from the manufacturer and they determined it was a defective motherboard, sent a new one that arrived today but I'm still having the same problem. I reformatted the HD and disconnected almost every peripheral but nothing seems to be working. I could really use some help here. Anyone have any ideas as to what the problem might be? I'm dreading having to send the computer back and waiting another 3 weeks to get it back. :(



    cliffs: no xp for home.
     
  2. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
    what pci cards do you have installed? strip it down to bare minimum and install again. if it gets you through the install, add cards and their device drivers one at a time.
     
  3. Madness

    Madness Do not let Dr. Mario touch your genitals. He is no

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    37,904
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    not one pci card, video card is agp, memory card reader is diconnected.. right now it's about as barebones as I can get it. :dunno:
     
  4. Madness

    Madness Do not let Dr. Mario touch your genitals. He is no

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    37,904
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    could it possibly be the hard drive? I've swapped out the ram with a stick from my old pc but same problem... I figure nothing would load at all if the HDD were the root of the problem but I'm not sure :hs:
     
  5. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    It could be an issue with the hard drive.

    Also, can you try another copy of the Windows CD?
     
  6. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
    i'd memtest the ram
     
  7. Madness

    Madness Do not let Dr. Mario touch your genitals. He is no

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    37,904
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    ehh.. im just gonna send the shit back.. spent too much time trying to fix it myself when the damn thing has a warrantee. :o
     

Share This Page