MMA Having a dangerous guard

Discussion in 'OT Bar' started by FloppyCock, May 25, 2007.

1. FloppyCock

FloppyCock New Member

A few months ago I realized that I have a passive guard. Since then I've only been rolling from guard, and I've seen some massive improvement.

Do any of you guys have any advice on having an aggressive guard?

2. chechen

chechen Brazilian Jiu Jitsu OT Supporter

chokes him with ur legs

3. chechen

4. kronik85

kronik85 New Member

5. chechen

i dunno.. i could be more constructive.. but i feel like its all stuff you have heard about ten thousand times :o

if you want to have a dangerous guard, just attack the guy a lot, work on your attacks. you know that

6. Sammo

Sammo New Member

7. Sammo

Sammo New Member

8. Ricey McRicerton

Ricey McRicerton New Member

I'm kind of in the same position. I don't feel comfortable enough from guard to open up and start trying for submissions for whatever reason. Maybe I'm not technical enough or whatever, but I really do just kind of sit there and try to work chokes instead of going for things that I seem to get caught with (triangle/armbar/etc). :hs: Just takes more time rolling.

9. MyLittleAirport

MyLittleAirport OT Supporter

Its funny because its the total opposite for me. Since I'm such a small guy and whenever I have someone thats larger than me in my guard (which is like 90% of the time), they'll pretty much break my guard one way or another sooner or later. So that made me work on my open guard game a lot but I noticed my closed guard game was suffering so I've been focusing on that a little bit more. I always feel more dangered whenever I'm in a really tight closed guard compared to someone's open guard.