A&P Have to build a new PC. Hows this sound?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by adamlewis88, Apr 13, 2008.

  1. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
  2. ok_computer

    ok_computer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    15,615
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB, Canada
  3. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    I dont see a mac with that much stuff for $900...
     
  4. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    I like the idea of a mac, and if I had the money, I may even get a power mac but I really dont see any advantage over the PC :hs: Seems like I get more for less going this route.
     
  5. kristin

    kristin my dog > *

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4,483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    I'd probably post this in the main forum or the PC subforum to get better answers
     
  6. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    But I like OTAP.
     
  7. Spurious

    Spurious New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    27,219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, Texas Bans: 5
    Needs moar rams. Everything else looks good.
     
  8. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    moAr than 2 gigarbites? Im just gonna run XP :hs: I dont like vista..
     
  9. Spurious

    Spurious New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    27,219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, Texas Bans: 5
    2GB is like $70, suck it up, pussy.
     
  10. Spurious

    Spurious New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    27,219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, Texas Bans: 5
    If you run Lightroom you're going to want 4GB anyway, it's like butter.
     
  11. Sympathy

    Sympathy OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Messages:
    31,020
    Likes Received:
    80
  12. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Yeah...but lightroom is homoseshual...
     
  13. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,489
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    get at least 3GB ram
     
  14. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,737
    Likes Received:
    55
    again, i'm too slow.

    Mojito nailed it. Awesome computer, bottleneck is the ram. You should have no less than 4gb.

    I have 4gb in my 'work' machine now, and if I were to build a machine, i'd double that.
     
  15. kristin

    kristin my dog > *

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4,483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    4GB is worth it, but it's my understanding most platforms don't recognize it? I use vista x64 so mine does but :dunno:
     
  16. Spurious

    Spurious New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    27,219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, Texas Bans: 5
    You get like 3.xGB depending on motherboard/windows.
     
  17. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Hmm..Ok. Ill change it to 4GB and try to find a copy of x64 vista :hs:
     
  18. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,489
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    vista x64 has fucking retarded memory leak issues.

    you're better off with XP x64


    I'm typing this from a Vista x64 machine that crashes about once a day from memory problems.
     
  19. tetsuo

    tetsuo And shepherds we shall be...

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    9,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    or you could look into osx86 :) i think i'm going to build a machine to run that in the next couple of months.
     
  20. CrazyFoool

    CrazyFoool OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    43,974
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Issaquah

    sounds like its your machines problem...i know others who are running vista64 w/ more than 4 and they're fine.
     
  21. kristin

    kristin my dog > *

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4,483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    My laptop works fine with it with no issues at all
     
  22. emorphien

    emorphien New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Sounds pretty good. I have an overclocked E6600 with 4GB ram which I'll be upgrading soon. Likely to go to the Q9300 and 8GB RAM and a new motherboard (will sell my current board with RAM, heatsink and CPU mounted) to a friend and shove in a new one, then reinstall Vista 64 with SP1 while I'm at it.

    User error, software problems, or defective hardware. Vista has never crashed on me in over a year. My current up-time is almost 11 days, IIRC I was installing and fiddling with stuff when I rebooted it then.
     
  23. wizeguy4

    wizeguy4 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,454
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2008
  24. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    stupid idea.
     
  25. tetsuo

    tetsuo And shepherds we shall be...

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    9,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    why? i've got a buddy who has a box running it and he has no problems.
     

Share This Page