MIL Have a good job, considering joining reserves. Need input.

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by jcgodfrey, Nov 13, 2008.

1. jcgodfrey

jcgodfrey New Member

The title says it all...

I'm a police officer in Kansas City's fine inner city (sarcasm). Been on for a couple of years and I love the job, so I'm not looking for a replacement job. I've done the whole college gig and have the degree too (for what it's worth).

Have always wanted to join the military, and in fact when I joined the PD I took the ASVAB and almost joined the military. Got a 97 on my ASVAB so I did fairly well.

My top choice is Marines; I enjoy being down in the mud, AND a lot of my police friends are Marines. There is just a certain pride about them that I don't see in others. I don't need the nicest facilities or the best of what the military has to offer in that respect.

Those of you in the reserves, can you provide me with some pluses and minuses? I'm not doing it for money; it will cut into my off-duty gigs considerably and I'll actually lose money doing it, for a while. It's just something I've always wanted to do.

Please, no BS about being a weekend warrior or anything :) Keep it constructive. I'm wanting to know why some say "you're crazy" and why some say "go for it".

Thanks.

Last edited: Nov 13, 2008
  2. NisAznMonk

NisAznMonk New Member

As long as you are willing and ready to deploy then I don't see any problems?

3. TRN

TRN Well-Known Member

I'm trying to leave the Marines to get into your current job. :o

None the less good luck with what ever you decide to do. :bigthumb:

4. EYOB

EYOB Guest

Realize that you may be deployed, perhaps as soon as you join your Reserve Unit. But yeah, I can understand what you mean by Pride, etc...

Have you talked to your coworkers about this ?? And what MOS are you considering ??

Oh, and you're a faggot for wanting to be a weekend warrior. :bigthumb:

5. jcgodfrey

jcgodfrey New Member