GUN Has anyone used Gunkote, Duracoat etc?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by 4bangin, Aug 21, 2009.

1. 4bangin

4bangin Ballet of Violence

I bought a cheapo SKS that has a crappy finish. I'm wanting to try to coat it for practice. I was just wondering, how comparable is this stuff to paint? I do automotive paint for a living, so have plenty of experience with that. I was wondering if I could use an airbrush and add depth or other details to the stencils with duracoat or gunkote. I am wanting to just use one of their standard camo patterns, just didn't know how much you can work with this stuff.

Also, does anyone have photos or nicely done jobs? I've tried to search google and a few forums but havnt found anything beyond the basic.

2. What do you want to coat? Depending on what it is, something like AlumaHyde is an option. I've done an AlumaHyde II coating on a barrel recently, and other than slamming it into one of my reloading presses (twice) it's been pretty durable.

3. Bobalu

Bobalu New Member

i know reman has done some pretty good work with his rifles

4. dpixel8

dpixel8 New Member

I've used gunkote on an AK. worked great. I'm putting more coats on my next one though

5. phrozenlikwid

phrozenlikwid New Member

My Cerak-kote and controls are already looking fucked up, and I haven't even started yet with the horrors of nightly dryfire practice out of Kydex.

Shit's gay if you are expecting any abbrasion, but it's cheap and it protects against rust a little (all I care about)

6. lobstradomus

lobstradomus New Member

I've used Alumahyde II, it seems to be holding up great on my ak, even under the selector switch.

7. dpixel8

dpixel8 New Member

that's the only place my gunkote wore down a little. i don't care though

8. Floyd91

Floyd91 Active Member

I've duracoated a bunch of shit. It seems to be holding up just fine.

9. kf4zht

kf4zht New Member

If you have an oven the ceramic coatings are supposed to be much better but they have to be baked.