Has anyone here added RAM to their MBPs?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by MCohen, Jan 4, 2008.

  1. MCohen

    MCohen #NotMyPresident #AmericaIsAlreadyGreat #GoSolar OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    40,387
    Likes Received:
    476
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    The manual makes it look super simple, but I have a tendenacy to fuck up even the simplest things, so I'm hesitant to start on it.

    So, is it really just remove batter, remove RAM cover, and slide in the new ram at an angle? Did you encounter any problems when you did it?
     
  2. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    Yup it's really that easy. Much easier then the original iBooks which required you to remove the keyboard, pull the Airport card (if you had one back then), unscrew the cover over the RAM, and then install it.

    Check out some of the PowerBook fix it sites for nice full color instructions.

    http://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Mac/MacBook-Pro-15-Inch-Core-2-Duo/RAM/115/3/
     
  3. MCohen

    MCohen #NotMyPresident #AmericaIsAlreadyGreat #GoSolar OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    40,387
    Likes Received:
    476
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    :bowdown:

    Thanks, I'm going to give it a go this weekend
     
  4. LOLZILLA

    LOLZILLA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    97,923
    Likes Received:
    0
    So easy, but not as easy as the one screw for iMac ram. :bowdown:
     
  5. LOLZILLA

    LOLZILLA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    97,923
    Likes Received:
    0
    :cool:
     
  6. Uncle Phil

    Uncle Phil OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    25,124
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    easy son, but not as easy as installing ram in a macbook
     
  7. brolli

    brolli OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    12,802
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    CHERRY HILL, NJ
    I have 2gb on my mbp but am considering putting in another 2gb... anyone know which one on newegg is the best to get?
     
  8. kodiak

    kodiak Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2001
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SF
    Very easy, took me about ten minutes. Five of those minutes were trying to find the right size head for the screw driver.
     
  9. Gomer

    Gomer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    6,736
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Bend, WA
    I ordered the 2 GB stick from Transcend (couldn't pass up the price) for my MBP 2 days ago. I'll let you know how that goes after I install next Wednesday which will bring my total to 3 GBs.
     
  10. MCohen

    MCohen #NotMyPresident #AmericaIsAlreadyGreat #GoSolar OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    40,387
    Likes Received:
    476
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    I gave it a go this weekend, and bought one 2GB module from Bestbuy. What I didn't know is that if I want to upgrade to 4GB, I'd have to buy two 2GB modules because the factory ships it a 1GB module in each socket. I don't need the extra memory enough to spend $400.
     
  11. BIGsteev

    BIGsteev New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    link?
     
  12. Mr Jeffrey

    Mr Jeffrey New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin
    I recently tried to upgrade the ram in my MBP to 4 gigs and it wouldnt take it. I bought the first generation MBP right after it came out and apparently it maxes out at 2 gigs. Only the later generations can support 4 gigs.
     
  13. adum

    adum Wine & Tech

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    I bought mine from Crucial, it was about $100 for a 3gb kit.
     

Share This Page