hardware question concerning new comp

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Shrug, May 1, 2007.

  1. Shrug

    Shrug Die in a Kimbo fight

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    15,979
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    I recently got a hp pavilion amd 3800+ that came with a Geforce 6150 LE. I'm pretty bad with hardware so I was wondering does the video card being integrated prevent it from being upgraded? I would just open it up and look but i don't know what I'm looking at when i do.

    the specific model is HP Pavilion a1748x
     
  2. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,441
    Likes Received:
    12
  3. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    Many times the box's specs differ from the base model. It'd be a good idea to physically check if the slot is actually on the motherboard. Since the product spec *only* lists PCI-e x16, if the slot is there we can be very sure that it's an x16 slot.

    When facing the front of the case, open the left side. Face into the open case. In the lower left you should see expansion slots running horizontally. The topmost slot should look wider than the slot immediately below it. Normally I'd ask for a pic, etc, but in this case I think we can be very certain if you just make a quick check.

    This is a decent box. Another gig of RAM and an nVidia 8xxx card would do nicely.

    What's your budget?
     
  4. Shrug

    Shrug Die in a Kimbo fight

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    15,979
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    about 450$ for upgrades
     
  5. Shrug

    Shrug Die in a Kimbo fight

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    15,979
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    [​IMG]


    sorry its just a cell phone, is that top black port on the bottom left the pci slot, the one thats a bit offseT?

    also is the ram the 4 vertical slots on the top right?

    thanks :hs: i suck at this
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    WRONG.

    Many motherboards will use x16 slots but only be wired electrically for 8x.
     
  7. Shrug

    Shrug Die in a Kimbo fight

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    15,979
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    well i don't know what i have or what I'm wired for so someone help me out :(
     
  8. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    top right is RAM. top left is processor/heatsink. lower left white slots are PCI. lower left black slot is the newer PCI, x8 or x16.

    checking for a bit more info to walk you through checking BIOS.

    Do you know how to access your BIOS? It's the "Press <some key> to enter BIOS" message you get at the bottom of the screen. Del, F2...
     
  9. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    unable to find BIOS map on hp's site

    edit: got the MB, I'll tell you w/o BIOS.
     
  10. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    This site: http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c00841366&lc=en&cc=us&dlc=en&product=3352647

    says:
    some googling revealed that hp's internal name has a significant impact on board design even though the Asus model matches.

    So: google "Asus A8M2N-LA NodusM3-GL8E" to find: http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c00757531&lc=en&cc=us&dlc=&product=3310300
    At nVidia's site: http://www.nvidia.com/page/gpu_mobo_tech_specs.html

    The chipset supports x16. No customer complaints of x16 claim and only x8 support on newegg for the motherboard model. 99% sure it's PCI-e x16.
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2007
  11. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    $450 is a big budget. Get memory and a new video card.

    For a memory recommendation I need you to go here: http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php

    Download the program. Run it. Go to the "SPD" tab. Check all slots using the pulldown and screenshot any slot that's got info. This info will confirm the exact RAM speed and timings actually installed.

    For the video card, either spend $150-200 on an nVidia 8600 or $250-300 on an nVidia 8800. Despite the numbers being close, there's a big performance gap, pretty much proportional to price.
     
  12. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    HDD? 8600+1gig RAM+420GB HDD is right around your budget.
     
  13. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    That it: Last time I do so much work for some random.

    Short, sweet, and bitter like the ogreman here.
     
  14. Shrug

    Shrug Die in a Kimbo fight

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    15,979
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    i actually hated vista which came installed and formatted my computer, when installing XP it keeps freezing and i dont know why and HP doesnt send a windows vista bootdisc with its computers :ugh:


    i either need to a) find out how to install XP successfully
    or b) order a vista bootdisc for ~15 $ to get back where i started
     
  15. Shrug

    Shrug Die in a Kimbo fight

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    15,979
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    sorry im paying attention, i work from 2 to 8pm 7 days a week :hs:
     
  16. Shrug

    Shrug Die in a Kimbo fight

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    15,979
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    and i really DO appreciate you taking the time man
     
  17. Shrug

    Shrug Die in a Kimbo fight

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    15,979
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    all the 8800s i see on newegg are ~500 :hs:
     
  18. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will this affect his ability to use a PCI-E x16 video card?
     
  19. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    Some cards only run at x16. Most will run x8 or x16.
     
  20. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    That's the top-of-the-line 8800 GTX.

    Look one step down at the 8800 GTS's, specifically the 320MB Asus and XFX cards @ $305-$310. My price guesstimate was a bit off.

    When does your XP install freeze exactly? Does it always freeze at the same part of the install?

    Sorry for the pissyness. RL/OT combo frustration was being vented.
     
  21. Shrug

    Shrug Die in a Kimbo fight

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    15,979
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    yeah it always freezes at same part, i called hp and they actually said their vista desktops wont run xp because all thier hardware drivers come installed with vista drivers. retarded.

    also the vista recovery disc to get back to where i started is like 25 bucks :ugh:
     
  22. Shrug

    Shrug Die in a Kimbo fight

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    15,979
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    im going to order the 8600/2 gigs of ram btw

    that should get me up there a little farther
     
  23. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    2GB of RAM is tasty. You can shut off the pagefile and not have to put up with Windows' crappy memory manager throwing shit onto the hard drive while you're busy loading the next deathmatch arena.

    BTW, if you want to force Windows to lean harder on the RAM instead of putting stuff in the pagefile all the time, change the memory allocation in the Advanced tab of the System Properties window so it favors the "system cache" instead of "programs". All the "programs" setting does is move data from RAM to the pagefile long before you open the next program, so it doesn't have to slow down loading that program while it clears space in RAM -- but with 2GB, you won't need that feature anyway.
     
  24. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    :ugh: You formatted the recovery partition too? You could have saved yourself time and money by burning the recovery disks for ~ $.15(the cost of 2 DVDs).
     
  25. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    See post #11.

    I need you to grab that program and run it so that we can find out the RAM speed and timings. You need to match whatever you buy to that speed/timings.

    They are lying to you about your hardware. Hardware manufacturers won't release hardware that's not supported by XP SP2, not yet.

    You may have to slipstream a driver or two into your XP install, or install a floppy, but it's definitely possible to get it installed.

    Easy way: install XP to a spare HDD in another computer. Put that drive in the new computer.
     

Share This Page