hardware firewall

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by mace, Oct 17, 2006.

  1. mace

    mace i don't read

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    does anyone know of a firewall that allows for whitelists?

    like say I only way to allow access to a limited number of domains and block everything else out.
     
  2. piratepenguin

    piratepenguin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ireland
  3. mace

    mace i don't read

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    well i'm looking for more of a hardware solution where everything is included and is designed to be a firewall. i know i could just load smoothwall on an old pc, but that's just kinda tacky.
     
  4. piratepenguin

    piratepenguin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ireland
    I'd guess that there's hardware firewalls you can buy that run Smoothwall.

    I'd also hope that pretty much all half-decent hardware firewalls support whitelisting in this way.

    Look for a suitable hardware firewall and find out if it supports it (use google, manufacturers site, whatever), or wait until hopefully some people here can recommend decent ones...
     
  5. Coottie

    Coottie BOOMER......SOONER OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    32,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OKC
    For a totally free firewall, if you have an old computer sitting around, you can download almost any distribution of Linux and use it as a firewall. If you d/l Ubuntu, you can d/l firestarter to manage the connections or just modify the files yourself. If you don't want to do that, you'll prolly want to buy one.

    How big is your white list??? Is this for commercial or personal use??
     
  6. mace

    mace i don't read

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    well my uncle owns an insurance business and he's having trouble with employee's going to websites and getting the computers infected with crap. I think they only go to the corporate website to do all their work, hence why I think a firewall with a whitelist would be the best idea.
     
  7. mace

    mace i don't read

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    well they don't have an intranet.

    You see he has like 30 something stores in the dfw area and they all connect to a website to do their work. I think that's how it is, i'm not all that familiar with their setup. They do use linksys wireless routers, so you're saying I could just load up some custom firmware that can do a whitelist?
     
  8. crazybenf

    crazybenf Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    15,575
    Likes Received:
    2
    +1 for smoothwall. It serves my company very well.
     
  9. crazybenf

    crazybenf Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    15,575
    Likes Received:
    2
    and, if you're concerned with aesthetics and 'tackiness'.. then buy a nice slimline case.. Hell, you can even get a media center case. It doesn't have to look like a conventional pc.

    Go rackmount and have it on a shelf?
     
  10. Coottie

    Coottie BOOMER......SOONER OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    32,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OKC
    Define crap. Viruses?? Adware?? What are you talking about.

    If you have a reoccuring virus problem then it's not your router that's to blame, it's your virus scan software package that's the problem. If you are using McAfee then that IS your problem and you should seriously switch to Norton Corporate Edition.

    Norton Corporate is different than the desktop version and it's very good!

    Until you define crap, this may or may not be true. This is your current working theory and that fine but you should be more specific about the problem you are trying to solve.

    Viruses can be amazingly persistent and difficult to get rid of. Particularly in a networked environment where the virus can spread to servers then reinfect desktops when the infected file is accessed again.
     
  11. mace

    mace i don't read

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Well say a user goes to myspace and clicks a link that goes to a malicious site that exploits a flaw in internet explorer and then in turn causes the computer to become infected with spyware. That's what I mean.

    The computers run win2k and are restricted to install stuff, but that's not going to stop exploits against ie.
     

Share This Page