Hard-wire Power for Laptop?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by DatacomGuy, Mar 27, 2007.

  1. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I have a Compaq Presario R3000 series laptop. It's two years old, and has the dreaded power plug issue. I've had it replaced twice.. but its no good again.

    I'd like to look into hard-wiring the power jack right to the mother board.. i.e. cutting off the male plug, removing the female jack, and soldering the wire right to the board. I know its dangerous because of being pulled on, etc.. but this laptop sits on a desk 24/7 and doesn't travel, etc (mostly because of this issue).

    Any thoughts? Do'able? Any reads? Should I just pay to have it done?
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Well, I would recommend replacing the connector with something more industrial. Something that provides a better "positive" connection and is secured to direct strain/stress to the chassis, and not the mainboard.

    I would not recommend directly soldering the cord.
     
  3. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    So I don't have to replace the female jack on the mobo with the factory default one? I can pick a different one (match size) that may last longer?
     
  4. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
  5. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    For the best possible connection, you may want to go hardcore and use a BNC connector. It wouldn't get confused for being anything else, and it will hold on so tight the rest of the computer could get torn to pieces before it would let go.
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    is BNC rated for the current draw?
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
  8. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    No idea, but I've never managed to overload one. I ran 110VAC through one once; I had it set up as a detachable connector crosslinking the power switch with the keyboard lock, so I could keep the computer from being turned on when I didn't want it to be used. Used that setup for a couple of years before I got a better computer.
     
  9. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I could have sworn that BNC stood for British Naval Connector, but that url says "Bayonet Neill Concelman". Anyone know what's correct?

    voltage doesn't matter as much as the current, which is not listed by that paper.
     
  11. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Not sure, to be honest (regarding BNC name). As far as current, good question. I can call some of my vendors tomorrow (amphenol being one of them...). I just am not looking forward to taking this thing apart and soldering connectors. Never done it before..
     
  12. gnp

    gnp New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    i thought it was british naval as well, i even told someone the other day that it stood for that, alas imadumbass http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BNC_connector
     
  13. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Google finds me connectors 1A through 10A.. but obviously I need to find a female board mount solder connector.. Still searching.
     
  14. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Compaq service manual states power cable must have min current capacity of 10A, nominal voltage rating of 125 or 250 V AC..

    "The Wide range input feature of the notebook premits it to operate from any line voltage from 100 to 120 or 220 to 240 V AC"

    Stand-alone power requirements are:
    Nominal operating voltage: 14.4 V DC
    Maximum operating power: 60 W
    Peak operating power: 65 W

    External Power Supply:
    Operating Voltage: 90-264 VAC RMS
    Operating Current: 1.6 A RMS
    Operating Freq Range: 47 - 63 Hz AC
    Maximum Transient: 4/50 kV
     
  15. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Any other info we need? I'll send this to some BNC manufacturers tomorrow and see what they come up with. Obviously I need a male and female.. Anything else?
     
  16. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    you should use a panel mount connector with solder tabs, solder a reasonable gauge of wire from it to the motherboard. Even if you find a board mount BNC socket it wont match the foot print of the existing conector, nor would it be very strong when inserting / removing the connector.

    BNCs are designed for signals not power distribution which is why that link does not specify a current rating. I dont think they will cause a problem as long as you can solder directly to the conductors with a reasonable guage of cable.
     
  17. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Stranded conductor? Like a 20awg? 18awg?
     
  18. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    stranded, yes... large enough to support the current draw.
     
  19. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
  20. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think it would be better to use a connector that you can attach to the outer case of the laptop (perhaps with a compression nut that threads onto the connector body) and solder wires from it to the motherboard, so you won't damage the motherboard if you yank the cord, as would happen with a connector that solders directly to the board.
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2007
  21. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Yeah, thats what I'm planning on doing..
     
  22. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay. I'd heard mention of board-mounted connectors, and I wanted to make sure you had considered the potential for damage given that BNCs don't release on their own.
     

Share This Page