hard drive won't boot in to windows

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by mondaynightmike, Dec 8, 2006.

  1. mondaynightmike

    mondaynightmike New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    117,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DEFINITELY No *Unlinked* Cock Pics
    Mate was having problems with his computer, had shit loads of crap on there from looking at porn anyway, remastered the drive, etc..

    Boots fine on my computer, but when i've got it connected back to his computer, it gets to the bit where the grey bar goes across the bottom of the screen then won't go any further.

    So i connect it back up to mine and boots straight in to windows.

    anyone got an idea of what the problem might be? I tried disconnecting everything and just having the HD boot, but still locks up at the same place.

    Would the problem be because i used my computer to re-master (format) the HD? does it need to be done in his computer?
     
  2. mondaynightmike

    mondaynightmike New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    117,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DEFINITELY No *Unlinked* Cock Pics
    Also just to mention, the floppy drive light stays on, would this indicate a problem with the motherboard?
     
  3. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Have you tried booting into safe mode?

    It's probably locking up because you setup the drive with your PC. Unless you have identical hardware, it can definitely cause problems.

    Search google or Microsoft for an app called sysprep. That should let you boot the drive in the other machine. If not, you'll probably need to format/setup the drive on the PC it will run on.
     
  4. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    If the floppy light stays on all the time, the IDE cable is on backwards... ;)
     
  5. mondaynightmike

    mondaynightmike New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    117,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DEFINITELY No *Unlinked* Cock Pics
    Yeah i know :)

    but this only stays on when it doesn't boot so thought it might be worth mentioning :)

    thanks for help, i'll give it ago.

    Think the safest bet is to just reformat the drive in the original computer. I just though it would save time me being able to do it at home :hs:
     
  6. mondaynightmike

    mondaynightmike New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    117,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DEFINITELY No *Unlinked* Cock Pics
    Next quick question, i've got it set to boot from CD, yet it seems unable to find the drive.

    I've no idea why, my computer is fine, his seems to be retarded.
     
  7. mondaynightmike

    mondaynightmike New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    117,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DEFINITELY No *Unlinked* Cock Pics
    Problem sorted.
     
  8. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    What was the problem?
     
  9. mondaynightmike

    mondaynightmike New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    117,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DEFINITELY No *Unlinked* Cock Pics
    Well i'm just reinstalling windows on it so hopefully this should cure the non booting problem :o

    I fucked up on how i had the HD and DVD drive connected up. Thats why it wasn't picking the DVD drive up so wasn't letting me boot in to windows.

    it's an old pc so got both connected up using one IDE cable rather than two seperate ones.
     

Share This Page