A&P Hard Drive space

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by Creator, Jul 19, 2008.

  1. Creator

    Creator The Creator Has a Master Plan

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2001
    Messages:
    44,092
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Here
    I feel like a crack head selling everything off to get his fix.... I've deleted so much off my main drive it's not even funny. It's like 50% photos now. I have 200 megs free at the moment.

    What do you guys do workflow wise? Do you have lightroom import your raws right to an external? I like to have my latest imports on my laptops drive so I can use them wherever I am. I moved a bunch of raws + exports to my external a while ago but I fear that when I need to use them in lightroom again im going to have problems.

    Whats the solution for this?
     
  2. David

    David New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    9,384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Get a bigger HD?
     
  3. Creator

    Creator The Creator Has a Master Plan

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2001
    Messages:
    44,092
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Here
    Its a laptop with 150 gig internal drive
     
  4. David

    David New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    9,384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    You can replace laptop HDs...:ugh:
     
  5. Hyperite

    Hyperite Vagina Junction OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    28,531
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Lightroom import from source to internal 1TB, regular backups to external 3TB RAID
     
  6. Creator

    Creator The Creator Has a Master Plan

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2001
    Messages:
    44,092
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Here
    :squint:
     
  7. Creator

    Creator The Creator Has a Master Plan

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2001
    Messages:
    44,092
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Here
    How do you do your backups? Do you just copy the lightroom folder? Or is there a better way to do that so you cna easily reconnect the media?
     
  8. MSTRBKR

    MSTRBKR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cydonia
    My workflow is... I copy the RAW files straight off the camera onto the internal storage disk for editing in LR with fast access.

    Edit them, save the edits to my 'Photos' folder on my internal storage HD.

    Then I move all the RAW + jpeg files onto my external storage drive.
     
  9. Hyperite

    Hyperite Vagina Junction OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    28,531
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Yeah, just copy the folder, vista merges it so it only copies the new or changed stuff, and do a lightroom catalog backup. It's mounted as a network drive, so... it's connected anytime it's on.
     
  10. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just keep adding more HD's :o
     
  11. Jonny Chimpo

    Jonny Chimpo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    64,771
    Likes Received:
    378
    Location:
    The sweaty asshole of the universe
  12. Girth

    Girth ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    71,420
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    Houston
    I asked the same question last week. I think I'm just going to buy bigger HDs wheb the time comes. I have 320GB internal and a 500GB external right now. 4 bays to add some serious stuff in later. :)
     
  13. QWIKSNK

    QWIKSNK New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    22,984
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Murder Mitten
    I just backup everything on my 500 gb external (and keep copies on my laptop HD) but Im going to change that this weekend. Im just going to keep large JPEG's on my laptop, and all my RAW's on the external, should save some serious space (my 80 gb hd is FULL all the time too, but 80 GB is nothing, I delete everything that isn't worthy)
     
  14. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    storing both raw and JPEG? :nuts:
     
  15. Hyperite

    Hyperite Vagina Junction OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    28,531
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    :werd:
     
  16. turbodude

    turbodude Just a photographer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    10,118
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Same.... However i rarely shoot RAW, so most of the time unedditted full size JPEGS go into the extranl drive
     
  17. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
    I have so many TB's of space it's sick :o
     
  18. isaac86hatch

    isaac86hatch This thread sucks

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    27,892
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    I don't store shit. :dunno:
     
  19. QWIKSNK

    QWIKSNK New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    22,984
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Murder Mitten
    raw on my external. jpeg on my laptop that I would want to show others.

    when im editing im at home, so I have access to all my RAWS
     
  20. Tvan

    Tvan New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    9,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    I haven't switched to shooting RAW yet, but I probably will very soon. Then I'll just store all of them on my externals and import the ones that I really like on my laptop as jpegs.
     

Share This Page