Hard Drive Mirroring Question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by freshie, Sep 25, 2008.

  1. freshie

    freshie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    8,208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Royersford, PA
    What can i use to mirror a hard drive? My boss wants to swap computers, but not lose anything, one's a laptop, the other is pc. What is the easiest way to make sure his computer it setup exactly like his laptop was (preferences, files etc....)

    thanks
     
  2. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,736
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    you could ghost the drive from one to the other, then run the xp cd and repair the windows install

    but there might be an easier way. i think windows has some type of migration tool built in
     
  3. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's not mirroring, that's migrating. There's no easy way to do it, because you'll have to install all the programs he had and copy all the settings. If you've got any mad skillz as an IT bitch, you can probably get it done in a day.

    Probably the most foolproof way to do it is to get the MSI installer creator from a Windows Server CD, run it as soon as you get the computer, then run it again just before you get rid of the computer -- it will analyze all of the changes made since the computer was first scanned and pack it all into a ginormous installer that will reconstitute everything onto the next machine you get. It's a little late for that now, but maybe you can do it with his new machine.
     
  4. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    I find it hard to believe there is no way to do this.
     
  5. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is the User Settings Migration Wizard, but it barely works for shit and it doesn't copy programs. The guy wants a perfect duplicate of his current user experience down to the smallest detail and he wants it to be zero-effort? Not gonna happen; that shit is just too dependent on the software and driver packages on the old and new machines.
     
  6. bigboostdsm

    bigboostdsm New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    7,989
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Top, TN
    So then what is the best way to do this?

    Use the migration wizard then repair windows from the OEM CD?

    I'm going to be going to a new hard drive soon and the one thing I'm really worried about losing is my edited Itunes library. I just don't want to have to go back through all that music again :o

    Sorry I don't want to steal the thread but I thought it fit here.
     
  7. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Acronis True Image can probably ease things up
    on its backup feature, you have the following options:
    1. My Computer
    2. My Data
    3. My Application Settings
    4. My Email

    #1 would be ideal if both pc has the same hardware/config
    #2-4 would do the job as long as the same apps are installed on the destination pc
     
  8. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will it do Applications?
     
  9. bigboostdsm

    bigboostdsm New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    7,989
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Top, TN
    So if I was putting a new hard drive in my computer and I wanted to replace the old C drive with the new drive, #1 would work?
     
  10. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is an overwhelming flaw in Windows, if you can't move your applications and everything over. This is a no brainer on OS X. I find it... hard to believe they make it this hard on Windows.

    Can it really be?
     
  11. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    don't think so, just it's settings

    and for some reason btw, it doesn't find all apps

    i got like Photoshop, Opera, Nero, Games, and shit installed,.. and these are the only ones that showed up :dunno:
    [​IMG]


    EDIT: my bad
    #1 will include everything, including applications. you just can't select which.
    #3 is just that, Application Settings.
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2008
  12. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats fucking ridiculous.
     
  13. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    yes

    Acronis' Clone Disk feature would be easier though.
    it skips you the restore step. just plug the new disk, clone, and you are done.

    one important thing I should mention here is that the clone feature has 2 settings, 'auto' and 'manual'
    the problem with 'auto' is that if the source disk is 160GB, the target disk is 500GB,... the target disk will be formatted and partitioned to only 160GB.
    using 'manual' will let you manipulate partition sizing
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2008
  14. Limp_Brisket

    Limp_Brisket New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    48,422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    :werd:

    for the acronis software. works like a charm.
     
  15. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unlike OSX, Windows runs on more than one kind of hardware, and that makes it difficult to migrate programs and settings that are hardware-dependent.
     

Share This Page