Hard drive fix Problem

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by jrwfz5, Oct 19, 2004.

  1. jrwfz5

    jrwfz5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbia MO Mizzou Baby
    Ok I pulled out my 160gig maxtor the other day, being careful not to drop or bump the thing, but I set it on a fleese jacket and the next thing the hd wouldnt work. I think that the static fucked it up, but is there any way to get the data or hd working again. Services or comp places do that kind of service?? please help!!
     
  2. Slid.

    Slid. I'm a guy.

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,928
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NH
    What happens when you put the drive in a computer? Does it power on, just not display, computer not turn on?

    Static will kill computer components but I've never seen it myself and I'm not always in a clean room.

    Let me know.
     
  3. percent

    percent deluded

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    12,371
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Desert West
    Yes, please describe what you mean by "wouldn't work."
     
  4. Yep

    Yep Knick knack paddy whack, give the old dog a bone

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2001
    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Jersey
    I handle all kinds of memory, PCI cards, and hard drives with my bare hands and have never had any of it zap out.

    Sure you didn't bend a pin or anything?
     
  5. jrwfz5

    jrwfz5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbia MO Mizzou Baby
    Well what happends when I turn it on it is like it is not even there. I mean I look in the startup and when it used to show a slave drive it shows nothing. The drive has power and you can hear it spinning. The pins are nice and strait. I had to change the jumper settings on my main drive to primary only, b/c when it was on primary w/ slave present it gives me an error which I forgot the exact error. I was really careful w/ it unless i bumped it acidentlly. Its either that or static, which Ive never heard of that fucking up a drive before
     

Share This Page