Hard drive failed to initialize

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by jayhat, Feb 1, 2006.

  1. jayhat

    jayhat You have the personality of a dead moth.

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    6,072
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WA
    So I plugged in a 40 GB hard drive I had laying around and went to "my computer" but it didnt show up. So I went to the disk management area and saw the drive there but it was not formatted so i right clicked and went to initalize and it started then froze and my computer restarted. Now when i go into BIOS or the computer management area that had drive doesnt show up at all. Is it toast?

     
  2. jayhat

    jayhat You have the personality of a dead moth.

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    6,072
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WA
    No one???? :o
     
  3. steve3p0

    steve3p0 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  4. Aimless

    Aimless Resident drunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    If it's not recognized in the BIOS, I doubt many of those tools will help.

    Sounds like it's dead to me. Only thing you can do is try it in a different PC.
     
  5. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Make sure you have the jumpers set right. Either one drive needs to be Master and the other Slave, or both need to be set to Cable Select. That's a start.
     

Share This Page