GUN Halp WMD!!! v.AK scope mount

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by feetball, Feb 5, 2009.

  1. feetball

    feetball New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    11,766
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Shreddin' tha Perd!
    Ok so I bought this scope mount to slide on the scope plate on the reciever of my ak only it doesn't fit!

    Did I get the wrong shit? Parts missing? How can I make this work?

    Here's the scope plate:
    [​IMG]
    Note the height:
    [​IMG]
    The mount:
    [​IMG]
    Notice the screws are out farther like somethin is supposed to be sticking out from the plate farther:
    [​IMG]
     
  2. yar1182

    yar1182 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,852
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ventura California
    Yeah like that thing is going to hold zero.
     
  3. Keesh

    Keesh New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    15,333
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. sp00n155

    sp00n155 You underestimate the insignificance of my penis OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    10,306
    Likes Received:
    125
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    return that shit if possible and get a lever operated one.
     
  5. Guvnor

    Guvnor NYM3 and Me

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    8,054
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Get a top mount like I have here..

    [​IMG]
     
  6. feetball

    feetball New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    11,766
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Shreddin' tha Perd!
    Man I shoulda asked u guys first eh? Fffffffffffffffffffffuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu ...

    Need that shit for hog hunting this weekend too!!! Guess it's open sights for me!
     
  7. Keesh

    Keesh New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    15,333
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. phrozenlikwid

    phrozenlikwid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NKY
    The side mounts with the throw levers that Tantal sells/sold (Belarussian parts IIRC) are pretty decent. The one to get is the BP-02, and then you can shorten the rail itself and remount it. This puts the sight over the bore (as opposed to hanging off the left), and is about as low as that style of mount will go. I never had any problems with holding zero.

    Other mounting solution are the Ultimak rail (which combined with an aimpoint is pretty damn good), or the LaRue setup (which I've never seen).
     
  9. Dumbstixlars

    Dumbstixlars Ron Paul/AR-15/Glock/old car/Scooby/R/C croo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    8,349
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    ATX
    Ultimak FTW, that shit is solid.
     
  10. xpinchx

    xpinchx hes got a nice cock, on the thin side but its stil

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    46,800
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    East Lansing, MI
    IMO if you're going with a red dot the best setup is the ultimak. I gave up on trying to scope my AK and decided to embrace its open sight design. :love:
     
  11. Dumbstixlars

    Dumbstixlars Ron Paul/AR-15/Glock/old car/Scooby/R/C croo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    8,349
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    ATX
    btw where did you get that horseshit from?
     
  12. yar1182

    yar1182 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,852
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ventura California
    I looked at the larue irondot mount for the AK. I like it. Just wish they would sell the mount without the burris fastfire.
     
  13. phrozenlikwid

    phrozenlikwid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NKY

    I cancelled the one I had on order because I didn't keep my last AK. Now I have another AK, and no IronDot. Woe is my life.

    You thought it looked decent? The Doctor supposedly has the same mounting plates as the FastFire; Is there any reason one couldn't swap them if so inclined?
     
  14. Slick26

    Slick26 Gun|Bike|Cigar|PS3|Beer |Whisky|Night Crew

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    47,998
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mini Soda
    But it's so easy in CoD4!!!1!!ONE!
     
  15. feetball

    feetball New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    11,766
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Shreddin' tha Perd!
    midway ... takes em 2-days from order to get here.
     
  16. yar1182

    yar1182 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,852
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ventura California
    Yes you could swap. The thing is I have a doctor but Larue is making me buy a fastfire with their ak irondot mount. I just want the mount.
     
  17. Dumbstixlars

    Dumbstixlars Ron Paul/AR-15/Glock/old car/Scooby/R/C croo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    8,349
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    ATX

Share This Page