Halp connecting PS3 to PC's 7.1 speakers

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by BBSLM, Jun 4, 2009.

  1. BBSLM

    BBSLM New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want to somehow connect my PS3 to my PC's computer speakers. Hopefully there is some cable or cheap adapter I can pick up. Im not an audiophile, I just want to be able to watch blu-ray movies on my monitor/tv and use my computer speakers. I also do not care if the sound is true 7.1.

    Here is everything relevant in my setup:

    Sound card:
    CREATIVE SOUND BLASTER AUDIGY 2 ZS 7.1 SOUND CARD + DRV
    [​IMG]

    Speakers:
    Creative GigaWorks S720 7.1. The speakers are connected directly from the subwoofer to my sound card.
    http://www.newegg.com/product/product.aspx?Item=N82E16836116142
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Monitor/TV: Samsung ToC T240HD

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...onitors+-+LCD+Flat+Panel-_-SAMSUNG-_-24001280
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    80gb PS3
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2009
  2. StealthMode

    StealthMode Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,763
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MN
    Just use an Opitical cable. Tada!

    Edit: Scratch that, I looked closer....that wont work. hmmmm
     
  3. Watermelon

    Watermelon HALLO! WAT?

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,347
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. Watermelon

    Watermelon HALLO! WAT?

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wait, you have one other option..

    Use the PS3's Multi-Out RCA audio cables and use RCA female to 3.5mm male to your sound card. That should work. Might need to throw in a Y cable as well from left/right RCA to mono 3.5 depending on what your sound card allows.
     
  5. BBSLM

    BBSLM New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    0
    so something like running this from the PS3:

    [​IMG]

    into this:

    [​IMG]

    but where would I plug this adapter in on my sound card? could I run it into the line input (which the manual says is used for digital audio players) on the creative audio control pod

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page