Half-Life 2 & 7800gt

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by steve3p0, Dec 7, 2005.

  1. steve3p0

    steve3p0 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    I recently upgraded my system. Everything runs fantastic, EXCEPT for half life 2. COD2, BF2, DoD:Source, CS:Source, all look and run extremely smoothly on high settings. But, when I play Half-Life 2 in single player, my game stutters every 10 seconds or so. It doesnt freeze, it just kind of "hiccups." However, some do last longer than others, and it is worse when scripted events are happening. I tried turning down the settings, which helped maybe a tiny bit, but there is still stuttering.

    here are the new parts I purchased:

    AMD64 4000+ San Diego
    IOSTAR NF4ST-A9 NF4
    eVGA 7800GT - 256mb
    Antec 500W power supply

    These are my old parts that I still kept:

    1gb Geil pc3200 RAM
    80gb Western Digital 7200rpm IDE hard drive
    60gb maxtor, same specs
    2 other hard drives whcih are only used for storage
    DVD-RAM optical drive
    Audigy 2

    Any ideas what could be causing this?

    & One more completely ignorant question: Should I install the chipset drivers that came with my motherboard? Everything seems to be holding together so far with whatever windows is using now...
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2005
  2. DSMTuning

    DSMTuning New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,335
    Likes Received:
    0
    installing the right, updated chipset drivers definately wouldnt hurt... i'd try to reinstall the game, somethings not right there. on a second note how does it run when your not doing single player???
     
  3. Mikey D

    Mikey D New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Royal Oak, MI
    Did you do a fresh install of Windows on the new hardware? If not you're probably going to want to at this point.
     
  4. steve3p0

    steve3p0 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Fresh install of windows. All software I've installed so far has been legit, no spyware nonsense.

    HL2 when im not playing single player(cs:source, dod:source) both run great.
     
  5. Mikey D

    Mikey D New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Royal Oak, MI
    Just to be safe i'd check temps, any patches needed for HL2 and that card or driver updates for the card/game.
     
  6. chips

    chips ...

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,755
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Play halflife off of the cd? could be a bad cdrom drive/IDE cable
     
  7. diranged

    diranged New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had less than that kind of hardware, and it played fine. I'm guessing its your HD -- because of the huge maps in HL2, perhaps its freezing when its trying to load data off your drive. You have a really nice system, and a shitty HD -- try getting WD Raptor 74GB drive..
     
  8. goodprankfarva

    goodprankfarva I didn't think it was very realistic in the movie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Worst City, Indiana
    How fast is your internet connection?
     
  9. steve3p0

    steve3p0 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    please consider reading the post next time.


    I said the stuttering happens in single player games, too.

    For the record, I have cable, and my connection is fine.
     
  10. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    Are you running 64bit or 32bit Windows XP? Also is the game installed on the same drive as the OS or a different drive? Are both hard drives on the same channel (same IDE cable)?

    If it only happens in single player mode it sounds like it only happens when the game AI is stressing the system, and it could be the pauses are being caused by Disk IO from page swapping (even with a gig of ram a game like HL2 is going to cause the system to swap).
     
  11. Mugen92GS-R

    Mugen92GS-R New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    20,543
    Likes Received:
    0
    turn off auto-save.
     
  12. ZeroSkillet

    ZeroSkillet Matt Hughes > *

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    17,869
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Miami,FL
    Autosave is on...every 10 seconds:mamoru:
     

Share This Page