hal.dll error

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Maffy29, Feb 7, 2006.

  1. Maffy29

    Maffy29 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    7,799
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    So my friends computer (XP MCE) came up with an error that the file hal.dll was missing or corrupt. (file location is <windows root>/system32/hal.dll)

    This error would show while the computer was booting up. It would never get to Windows. Ultimately we ended up wiping it clean and reloading. Had the same issue with a computer at my old job (worked in tech support) and we did the same thing since it wasn't that big of an issue.

    What I'm trying to figure out is if there is another fix for this problem other than starting from scratch with Windows?
     
  2. dtfromep

    dtfromep New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,674
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saint Paul, MN
    Upgrade to HAL9000.dll
     
  3. dtfromep

    dtfromep New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,674
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saint Paul, MN
    On a serious note, I have never heard of such a thing, try googling it.
     
  4. Joe_Cool

    Joe_Cool Never trust a woman or a government. Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    299,424
    Likes Received:
    601
    What are you doing, Maffy?
    This is highly irregular.
     
  5. Maffy29

    Maffy29 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    7,799
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Didn't realize I forgot to put what caused it. The computer belongs to a friend of mine who rents a room in an old house. All a sudden, the power would go out randomly (usually while my friend is at class). He'd often come home to the computer back at the Windows login screen. I had told him to get a UPS, but he had to wait until he got paid at work. One day when he came back from class...it had the hal.dll error.

    It was no big deal for me when I was working in tech support to just reload Windows on the machine (had it happen on two machines in 6 months) since all the users stored their files on the network.
     
  6. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
  7. Boogieman117

    Boogieman117 PSN: Boogieman117

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    17,554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    20678/20657 area
    Find a friend with MCE and have him e-mail the file to you. :)
     

Share This Page