Hack the Acer Media Arcade?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by OFI, Feb 26, 2009.

  1. OFI

    OFI New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    52,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wet Wales
    Unlock the Acer Media Arcade?

    I have an Acer 5920G laptop which has a hidden partion with 'Acer Media Arcade' installed. It runs from a stripped down windows XP but it is all locked down (can't exit the media program at all)

    Are there any methods out there to hack it so it IS possible to get out of the media program?

    I want to run a program in XP, it can't be through a virtual OS and I really don't want to dual boot just for one app i'll rarely use, especially when it essentially has XP instaleld anyway.

    Tried searching Google but come up blank :hs:

    Some brief mention of it here: http://www.theacerguy.com/2007/09/how-to-disable-the-media-buttons-on-the-aspire-5920/
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2009
  2. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can probably unhide the partition using Norton PartitionMagic. As for the hacking, you're going to have to do that on your own and not talk about it here.

    Chances are, though, that special copy of XP is configured so it will not run anything but that media manager program, even if you figure out how to get to the desktop.
     
  3. OFI

    OFI New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    52,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wet Wales
    :ugh2: hack as in modify not some sort of illegal access to anything.


    Well yea, that's what I want to hack out :mamoru: It's my OS and I don't want it locked down damn it :o
     
  4. OFI

    OFI New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    52,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wet Wales
    Unhid the partition today with Norton Ghost. Fucking thing is just short of 10GB :eek3:

    Couldn't see anything that made much sense though :hs: need to have a longer look. How the hell it can be 10GB though I have no idea..
     
  5. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Read your EULA; you agreed to a binding civil contract that prohibits you from attempting to modify anything whatsoever about your copy of Windows, under penalty of lawsuit. While that almost certainly won't come to pass, Fazle doesn't want OffTopic.com to attract The Man's attention for being a place where people come to learn how to breach contracts.

    Anyway, you didn't pay enough to be entitled to a fully-operational copy of Windows, so cry about it or hack it on the down-low.
     
  6. Cock Diesel

    Cock Diesel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Messages:
    23,635
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    Why keep the Acer Media Arcade anyway? I have a 5680 and have never, ever used it or needed to use it.

    Unhide it and blast it off your hard drive, if possible.

    I bet he had a full copy of Windows and just wittled it down with nLite. I've done that before, and it did wonders for freeing up system resources. Of course you'll always run into a couple of missing drivers somewhere.

    You sound like a Microsoft hatchet man. How much did Steve Ballmer pay you to get your account?
     
  7. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cute. You're not a regular around here, so you probably haven't had a thread locked for straying too close to the bounds of legality yet. The rules actually get enforced in C&P, from time to time.
     
  8. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    10gb is insane. If you take a windows xp disc and do a full setup with all the updates and a dozen or so small applications, antivirus etc, you can fit the entire backup onto a single dvd with acronis with no compression.
    Even with a full office software suite it wouldn't be anywhere near 10gb.
     
  9. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    If you want a good work around for this without having to break any rules, then run the hidden partition. After you get all the latest updates and whatnot, delete the hell out of every single thing on that os that you don't want there.
    Then delete the hidden partition.
    Then install acronis, and do a proper drive image. I bet you can cut that 10gb in half.

    Acronis will even let you put another hidden partition back on the drive, that you can do incremental backups to.

    Best way though is to a dvd. That way if the drive takes a shit, you still have everything ready to go on a new hard drive.
     
  10. OFI

    OFI New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    52,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wet Wales
    What EULA? It was preinstalled.

    All I want to do is change the fucking startup procedure.

    Fucking sandy vagina..


    Oh and meanwhile we have a main forum currently with 5 direct links to the Wolverine movie and one NZB link plus a daily supply of copyrighted porn movies :hsugh:
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2009
  11. OFI

    OFI New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    52,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wet Wales
    I know i've nlited XP before and got it down to just a few hundred MB :mamoru:
     
  12. OFI

    OFI New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    52,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wet Wales
    True, only used it once by accident. Pretty pointless as far as I can tell as hibernated Vista boots quicker..
    Just wanted to see if it could be slightly more useful to save the need to install another XP OS, I only want to use the one XP app :hs:
     
  13. Cock Diesel

    Cock Diesel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Messages:
    23,635
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    :rofl::rofl::rofl: Oh, Deusy, you just crack me up.

    I'm well-aware of the bounds of legality, but I don't think discussion on how to remove bloatware would qualify for a thread lock or delete or some other disciplinary act.
     
  14. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    As far as I can tell, you're not asking how to remove bloatware, you're asking how to get a minimal-license installation of XP to act like a full-license installation.

    The main forum gets purged on a regular basis to avoid the kinds of problems that copyright infringement can bring about, and has its own rules anyway. Those rules don't apply here, and the rules here don't apply there. Funny how that works, isn't it?
     

Share This Page