MMA Gym quality

Discussion in 'OT Bar' started by BrianFantana, Apr 11, 2008.

1. BrianFantana

BrianFantana Active Member

I'm relatively new to boxing, and I'm not quite sure how to tell how good a gym / trainer is and how well it would prepare me for a fight. I've been going to a gym for the last couple months and I can feel a difference in myself, but really how is there a way to tell how good a gym is?

2. Redneck Shinobi

Redneck Shinobi Well Jules, the funny thing about my back is that

Have you went to check out another boxing club somewhere? You can tell, if you're noticing improvements thats a good sign. Do you feel you are being pushed, or do you feel you could push yourself harder? Check out a couple of places, but don't settle for anything less than what you got.

3. Titus

Titus New Member

best way is to go back to the main forum and ask them

4. Redneck Shinobi

:mamoru:

5. BrianFantana

The thing is, there aren't many boxing gyms within half an hour or so of here. There's one closer, but I've heard bad stories of kids being throw into the ring to spar within a few weeks of starting and just getting murdered. :ugh2:

Really since it's classes they push people on an individual basis, but since I've shown interest I think they're trying to push me harder.

6. Titus

Titus New Member

if you don't want to spar, maybe you should check out tiger crane style

7. Redneck Shinobi

Ok tell me a typical routine you got when you go? Being thrown into the ring after a few weeks isn't actually that bad if there is a purpose to it. It's usually gonna be light sparring and working on technique. It could be as bad as they say, I just doubt it. You have enough training under your belt to at least properly defend yourself I'd assume, so even if you got put in there would you be uncomfortable?

8. BrianFantana

Ok troll, I'm sure sparring when someone doesn't know the basics of any fight style is the most effective method. Get the fuck out.

9. Redneck Shinobi