grrr connections

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by xinster, Oct 8, 2006.

  1. xinster

    xinster New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UIUC
    Ok, so im trying to get all my files from my desktop to here, since that desktop is so in need of a reformat that it is basically so slow it cannot be used (only 2 yrs old, new dimension from dell).

    I need to find ways to connect them both. I cant seem to get my router to work. Would a direct ethernet cord connecting 1 comp to the other one work? and if so, how?
     
  2. xinster

    xinster New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UIUC
    nope, this one im using as a temp storage is a laptop
     
  3. xinster

    xinster New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UIUC
    i dont understand what you mean or how that affects me...i tried a direct ethernet connection with no internet but i didnt know how to get that to work
     
  4. k2737

    k2737 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale
    You need a crossover cable to directly connect two PC's together. You could connect each PC to a switch or hub and that would work too.
     
  5. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    probably not.

    as was said, crossover cable, hub, switch/"router".......what do you mean you "can't seem to get your router to work"?
     
  6. Schproda

    Schproda New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    No the drives are much different. A crossover cable is the more simple way, but there are USB adapters you can use to plug into the laptop and connect the other drive to.
     
  7. xinster

    xinster New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UIUC
    when i connect both comps and the connection to my router, both of them do not work.
     
  8. Dj_MikeyMike

    Dj_MikeyMike New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    oZ
    have u revised both TCP/IP on laptop and pc ?
     
  9. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    borrow a friend's and just get it done...it'll be easier and faster than trying to fix yours just for this project
     
  10. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Get a USB enclosure, plug your hard drive in, and copy the data over.
     
  11. xinster

    xinster New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UIUC
    i wouldn't know how to do that.
     
  12. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    .
     
  13. cvgwpg

    cvgwpg Guest

    My understanding is that you are trying to connect two pc's using the ethernet ports, right? I've done it myself with a friends laptop on a few ocassions.

    Once both are connect via cat5, assuming both pc's are on WINXP, you would go into your network connections and set up your LAN connection as a "bridged connection". Just right click and choose 'bridge'

    Now assuming you keep all your saved files you want to move in My Documents to your other pc, you need to make that folder and other folders a 'shared folder' so the other pc can access it. Just right click on the folder and go to properties and I'm sure you can figure it out. I did.
    If not sure, google it and you can find your answers.
    That's what I do if I need to figure something out to accomplish something.
     
  14. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    this will not work for the reason highlighted above.
     
  15. cvgwpg

    cvgwpg Guest

    7960...

    I have done it myself (many, many times) and have networked a desktop and laptop together to transfer data easily like this. It does work utilizing the ethernet cable.
     
  16. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    utilizing a cat5 crossover cable maybe, but not a regular cat5 cable.

    with CAT5e Crossover cable.
    http://www.ezlan.net/direct.html

    ethernet crossover cable
    http://compnetworking.about.com/od/homenetworking/a/connecttwocomp.htm

    CAT5 "crossover" cable
    http://www.ajcsoft.com/connect_computers_together.php

    ............
     
  17. cvgwpg

    cvgwpg Guest

    7960...

    Well I'm not sure if its a crossover, but it will ONLY work if I 'bridge' the LAN and of course you need to set your folders to 'share' for those folder to show up in your 'my network places' on your host pc. You can have pretty much access to the other pc's hardrive to move stuff back and forth.

    The ethernet cable I use is simply the one off my DSL modem.
     
  18. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    I've never tried using a bridged connection so I (may) stand corrected.
     
  19. cvgwpg

    cvgwpg Guest

    7960...

    Yeah, BRIDGED is the only way it could work with a reg CAT5 cable. I was frustrated in networking two pc's together before (with no router) but a friend showed me to do it. Great IF both pc's are XP and have ethernet. Maybe it could work with USB, but never tried it.
     
  20. xinster

    xinster New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UIUC
    Wow. seems like a good idea cvgwpg. I will give this shit a shot.
     
  21. xinster

    xinster New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UIUC
    Ok, i dont know how to bridge. It says i need to select 2 connections to bridge them. However, the only connection i have between both computers is a regular ethernet cable connected from one's ethernet port to the other one's network adapter.
     

Share This Page