SRS Group Therapy Ideas! Please Help

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by LuciferBowels, Jul 25, 2007.

1. LuciferBowels

LuciferBowels New Member

Hi everyone. I rarely post on OT but I need the power of OT to help me and a lot of recovering addicts. I recently was hired at a drug and alcohol detox clinic. In the beginning I did basic paper work, admissions, and talked to the patients one on one but now I am being asked to run groups. Five days a week I will be asked to run 2 hours of group therapy.

The problem is I have no groups to run. I have no experience with recovery and I just graduated. If you can use your own experience in rehab, or insight with recovery to conjure up some group ideas it would be much appreciated. This is an opportunity to reach hundreds of addicts in their most vulnerable stages of recovery

2. i killed tupac

i killed tupac New Member

do you have any personal experience with addiction/recovery? what exactly are your groups supposed to be about?

3. chucklenut

chucklenut New Member

any specific questions? i will do my best.

4. LuciferBowels

LuciferBowels New Member

I have no personal experience. The groups can be about anything. Reading out of the big book, coping skills, relapse prevention. Just a creative way to discuss recovery.

5. i killed tupac

i killed tupac New Member

have you ever sat in on a 12 step meeting to get an idea of what you want?

6. Coottie

Coottie BOOMER......SOONER OT Supporter

One technique I used when I was asked to chair AA meetings early in my recovery was to simply pick a topic and find something to read out of the big book. Then I'd just shut up and either call on people or start a "tag" session where the last speaker would pick the next speaker.