Ground Loop is driving me insane!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Kroze, Oct 23, 2006.

  1. Kroze

    Kroze Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    What?
    I've added 3 amps into 2 different cars and the ground loop is driving me crazy.

    My Latest is in a 06 civic coupe.

    4 channel MTX amp.

    4 gauge from the battery and into an 8 gauge splitter.

    8 gauge to the amp and 8 gauge ground wire (3 feet long) and i went to make sure i sanded to the bare metal of the chasis!!.


    Still i'm having this huge probelm with ground loop:wtc: (altnerator whine with increase in engine rpm)
     
  2. bearsdidit

    bearsdidit OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    32,816
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Huntington Beach,CA
    did you run wire on seperate sides of the car? what kind of head unit are you using?
     
  3. cipriani

    cipriani OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    14,705
    Likes Received:
    151
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Questions:

    1. What MTX amp is it?
    2. What GA wire does the MTX manual specify for the amp?

    My thoughts:

    - I think your problem is the splitter. I would feed the 4 gauge to the amplifier directly and run another 4 gauge for the other amp.

    - I also think your GND wire is too long. I suggest 12" to 18" in length and NO MORE. If you can, use a 4 GA wire for the GND.

    Remember, electrons flow IN through the negative, out through the positive.
     
  4. cipriani

    cipriani OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    14,705
    Likes Received:
    151
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Someone mentioned it already but i will touch on it also.

    - Are you running the RCA wire and PWR on opposite sides of the car? (some people argue it doesnt make much difference)

    - Are you using Shielded RCA's or just crappy unshielded RCA wires?
     
  5. bearsdidit

    bearsdidit OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    32,816
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Huntington Beach,CA
    lol he is probably using a pioneer deck. :Run:
     
  6. Kroze

    Kroze Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    What?
    - The 4 gauge power is half a foot away from the RCAs + speaker wires running down to the trunk.

    - My ground wire is only about 2 feet long.

    - I don't think my RCAs are shielded though:noes:


    - MTX 304
    [​IMG]
    RMS Power measured at 12,5V DC:
    37,5 W x2 into a 4 Ohm load with less than 0,055%
    75 W x2 into a 2 Ohm load with less than 0,1%
    150 W bridged into a 4 Ohm load with less than 0,1%
    Dynamic Power measured at 14,4V DC:
    90 W x 2 into a 4 Ohm load
    165 W x 2 into a 2 Ohm load
    325 W bridged into a 4 Ohm load
    Signal to Noise Ratio: ≥110dB A-Weighted
    Damping Factor: >200
    Frequenscy Response: 20Hz – 20kHz ± 0,25dB
    Maximum input: 8Vrms
    Thunder EQ: Variable Bass Boost (0-18dB) centered at 40Hz
    Crossover: Variable 40Hz to 200Hz, 12dB/octave high pass,
    24dB/octave low pass with mono output

    [​IMG]
     
  7. cipriani

    cipriani OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    14,705
    Likes Received:
    151
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    24" is still too long imo. go with a 12" length, 18" if you just CANNOT reach a metal part with 12".


    6" distance between RCA's and power is still too little also. As for the deck, i dont think that is the problem.
     
  8. bearsdidit

    bearsdidit OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    32,816
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Huntington Beach,CA
    ground out your RCAs, i guarentee it will solve your problem if everything else is done properly. what you can do to test it is, wrap a wire around the outer portion of the RCAs and touch the other end to ground.
     
  9. Kroze

    Kroze Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    What?
    I don't get how you "ground out the rca" please explain in layman's term.
     
  10. cipriani

    cipriani OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    14,705
    Likes Received:
    151
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    im not sure what he means either, seems to me he's just repeating something he read on another forum.

    However, some higher-end RCA wires have a Ground wire that runs in between the two main audio wires. and you hook up one end to the amp and the other end to the headunit.

    Either way, try out the free stuff first which is shortening your Ground wire first and if that doesnt fix it then move the power wire to the other side of the car (PITA) so it may be easier to move the RCA/Remote wires to the other side instead.

    If that doesnt work then spend money on better RCA's with a ground wire that runs in between them.
     
  11. bearsdidit

    bearsdidit OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    32,816
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Huntington Beach,CA
    :fawk2:

    Pioneers are known for having noise issues from the RCAs, I should know because I sell a ton of fucking Pioneer. When you ground out an RCA you wrap stripped wire around the outer barrel and then you ground the other end of the wire. It is not seomthing I've 'read on the fucking internet.'
     
  12. bearsdidit

    bearsdidit OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    32,816
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Huntington Beach,CA
     
  13. Kroze

    Kroze Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    What?
    Do you guys know any method to test and see what's causing the noise?
    Like isolated test to determine whether its:

    RCA,
    Speaker wires
    Amplifer
    Head Unit
    Grounding.
    or the Speakers themselves...


    I don't have any money right now :wtc: so spending more money for shielded rca will be my last and least preferred option.

    Why go through all this trouble to power 4 stock speakers you asked?
    1. the speakers sound so much better & louder than powering with the head unit.

    2. Future upgrades to component speakers. And i know the Head unit will not be able to power component speakers.

    3. The amplifier is a beast. rated @ 37.5 rms x 4 @ 4ohms, the birth sheet report & certified 76rms @ 4ohms with .00x total harmonic distortion.
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2006
  14. bearsdidit

    bearsdidit OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    32,816
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Huntington Beach,CA
    jesus have you even tried what i just mentioned? its the fucking deck. there was another thread in the main forum a couple weeks ago with a situation exactly like this, that is why I knew before you even posted it that you had a pioneer deck.
     
  15. Kroze

    Kroze Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    What?
    I ruled the deck out as a problem because for months, i had the thing powering all of the speakers and not a single noise problem. I just install the amp and all this noise came into play.
     
  16. bearsdidit

    bearsdidit OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    32,816
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Huntington Beach,CA
    HOLY FUCK SHOOT YOURSELF IN THE FUCKING FACE. WHEN YOU GET OFF YOUR LAZY ASS AND ACTUALLY TRY WHAT I'VE BEEN SUGGESTING ALL AFTERNOON YOU WILL WANT TO SUCK MY DICK.
     
  17. cipriani

    cipriani OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    14,705
    Likes Received:
    151
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    dude it doesnt fucking matter that it worked all those months with no problem. You are using an external amplifier therefore the entire situation changes.

    now quit being a fgt, shorten the ground, switch pwr to the other side and fucking quit this shit.

    that's it im done with this thread. you want a solution but youre not willing to do anything about it wtf.
     
  18. cipriani

    cipriani OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    14,705
    Likes Received:
    151
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Yes, you do the shit we've been telling you. For fuck's sake.


    I told you it should be the last thing you do.

    NO shit sherlock.

    pos in my book. No JL no care.
     
  19. bearsdidit

    bearsdidit OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    32,816
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Huntington Beach,CA
    when will jl come out with a big three channel?
     
  20. Kroze

    Kroze Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    What?
    I will try it mofos! jesus, i'm at work and it's nighttime. wtf, iu can't just run out and do that right now. calm down already.
     
  21. bearsdidit

    bearsdidit OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    32,816
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Huntington Beach,CA
    obviously. if we take the time to answer your stupid problems then you could at least try out our suggestions.
     
  22. Kroze

    Kroze Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    What?
    I am at work!
     
  23. bearsdidit

    bearsdidit OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    32,816
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Huntington Beach,CA
  24. cipriani

    cipriani OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    14,705
    Likes Received:
    151
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    just get 3 1000/1's

    or 3 a1800's :hsughno:
     
  25. bearsdidit

    bearsdidit OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    32,816
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Huntington Beach,CA
    three channel as in 2 x 100 and 1 x 500
     

Share This Page